Day 11: Taking it Like Sami Brady

13 Oct

I don’t watch soap operas anymore, but I spent a full decade of my life daily investing in “Days of Our Lives” and still remember well the tragedy and triumphs that befell the poor little Horton, Brady and Dimera families in Salem, and the love that kept them together. Sigh.

There was this one episode where Sami Brady was falsely (allegedly falsely) convicted of murder and sent to death row.  She was hooked up to four glass IV bottles and the music turned real somber as each one slowly entered her veins.  This whole event lasted for six episodes, I think.  She kept a stiff chin up until the fourth bottle was almost empty and then suddenly she got a reprieve from the governor, or someone else confessed, or the dead person she killed came back, I don’t know, all I remember is that she was down to that fourth bottle and things looked dicey.

There is no real reason for this story, except that I spend my mornings now hooked up to four glass IV bottles and my mind keeps wandering to Salem and thoughts about Sami Brady.  Anyone out there remember Sami Brady?  Loved to hate her, didn’t we?

In other news, which I suspect you really came here for, I am pleased to say that this Hickman line actually does feel better after two days.  I thought I was being hazed by the Russians when the doctor insisted that it would not remain feeling like I had been stabbed in the chest after a day or so, but he was right.  The Russians continue to rally and be on my team, no matter what Rocky IV taught me in my youth.

As far as chemo symptoms go, I have had only mild nausea – easily remedied with meds, and crazy bad insomnia last night – probably related to thinking about Sami Brady.  Otherwise, breakfast is firmly down the hatch and I am feeling like a champ.  Thank you for your continued prayers.  My cause before the Creator has made all the difference.  Love you all.  Mean it.

10 Responses to “Day 11: Taking it Like Sami Brady”

  1. Linda Luckstead Benskin October 13, 2012 at 3:23 am #

    What a blessing that the nausea has been manageable. We will keep praying for that, in particular.

    I have never watched a soap opera (not even the evening ones), although they are the main shows from America that seem to be exported to Ghana (so the Ghanaians think that family you described is typical!). Perhaps this lack in my education is why I am so culturally incompetent in the USA. 😛

    • ericswife October 13, 2012 at 5:20 am #

      I watched them up until the first episode of the second season of Desperate Housewives. I was halfway through the show when it occurred to me that I was rooting for this woman to get away with having an affair with the lawn boy. Her husband was a jerk, after all, so it was only fitting. I will never judge someone’s ability to keep fiction separate from reality, but I realized that, for me, it was easier to devalue marriage and morality in real life when I cheered against it in fantasy. Thus ended my soap days. You didn’t miss anything. 🙂

  2. Ruth spearing October 13, 2012 at 4:09 am #

    I am in awe of you for how well you are managing! Stay strong, you are incredible with your continual updates. Thank you so much! While you are in Moscow I thought I would tell you something that is going on here in England! Wierd news! A man has avoided a jail sentence after making 6000 calls to the emergency services saying his, uhum bits, were stuck in household items such as vacuum cleaner! In the uk when bizarre news comes on the tv it is usually in the states and we say “only in America”! Clearly the uk hosts many crazy tales too! Do you have a similar phrase when hearing something about the uk? Anyway enough of that! Just a distraction for you! keep strong x

    • ericswife October 13, 2012 at 5:21 am #

      We also say, “Only in America.” We know just how odd we are, and probably flaunt it a bit too proudly. 😉
      I am curious about this poor fellow and his bits and pieces. That’s a lot of calls to make.

  3. Janan October 13, 2012 at 8:24 am #

    I am still trying to overcome my “Days” addiction, so if you need an update on Sami, just let me know! ….don’t worry, she is still up to her old tricks! I’m trying to wean myself away, please pray for my success,as I know I could better fill my mind with lovely things (Phil. 4:8). I look forward to your posts every morning. I have told my ladies’ class about your journey and we are praying for you!! Stay strong.

    • Chera Cox October 13, 2012 at 9:19 am #

      Oh how I love DOOL! I watched it faithfully for two decades then off and on until just the past year when I finally stopped. Like you, I felt guilty to be watching it and rooting for whoever to get back together,,,even though they had done/were doing things that are against God’s word. I still love that show though and how I could just completely relax and escape my day for just an hour! LOL! Praying for your symtoms to remain mild today and a restful night!!! Hang in there…God’s got this!

    • ericswife October 13, 2012 at 9:35 am #

      That Sami would go from saint to sinner so fast it made my head spin. It’s a real skill. Thank you for your prayers and for following along. The company keeps me buoyed.

  4. Janette Scarborough October 13, 2012 at 10:19 am #

    You go girl!

  5. Pat Walt October 13, 2012 at 10:37 am #

    I was raised on Days of Our Lives, but much earlier than you, I think. Sami had the script behind her and those four bottles were fake (oh but how much fun to just believe!). You have our Dear Lord and thousands praying for you and that’s REAL!! God Bless the doctors there and the nurses and your wonderful husband! And God Bless you for being such a “ninja” and showing me I need to be the same!

  6. Jhansi October 13, 2012 at 12:57 pm #

    Amy, your story is the first I read every day when I turn on my computer. Every day your update brings a bittersweet smile. Your spirit through it all is encouraging to my life (which is very normal and uneventful)! I am humbled by your attitude and outlook, and I wish I knew what to do or say that would encourage you, as you do me everyday. I am thankful for you being in this world and than I can ‘know’ you, in the roundabout way that I do. 🙂 Oh and I watched Days when I was a child for a short time with my Grandma, a die-hard Soap watcher, and I remember not liking Sami at all.

Honest Truth About Me: I'm going to need a lot of cheer leading to see this through. Your comments and encouragement mean the world to me.

