A Pizza Story

10 Oct

I was not able to eat before apheresis yesterday, so I was quite hungry when they brought me back to my room.  Eric informed me that there was a nice cold bowl of borscht waiting for me.  Because he is darling, and can read my face like a book, he put on his jacket and walked a mile to a local restaurant to see if he could find me a pizza.

I was not there for the ordering, but Eric says that it involved drawings and crude sign language.  The pizza we received was sliced hot dogs with green olives and honey mustard sauce.  Either we received a wonderful Russian specialty, or Eric left the folks in that shop thinking that Americans don’t know pizza.

Dr. Fedorenko joined us for a slice and promised to show us a better pizza, though we all agreed that it wasn’t half bad.  

While we are here strictly for the medical procedure, it is fun when the bits of Russian culture come into play.  What I have learned above all else is that people are people no matter where you go.  We have met the happy, the grumpy, the rich, and the poor Russian here and they do not look much different from the Americans back home.

Off for another slice of that weird pizza.  This truly is an adventure of a lifetime.

5 Responses to “A Pizza Story”

  1. Rick Daugherty October 10, 2012 at 2:28 pm #

    Hi Amy, one of the newbies around here but I’m catching up quickly. Keep in mind, no matter how bad the day or the moment, remember it is temporary. Most importantly you’re one day closer to being through the procedure and progression free! Ithink that comes under “priceless”.

    I consider all you guys pioneers. Having the courage to go through and finish HSCT is awesome. Hang n there and know we’re watching, hoping, and praying for you.

    Now after the pep talk I need a favor. I turn 50 next month and being under that is a criteria for Moscow. Can u ask your doc how hard and fast that rule is? I’m sure I could get there b4 I turn 51. I have PPMS, EEDS 6.5, 6’0″ 165lbs. I work 1 day a week. I swim 2-3x a week. Other than MS I’m n very good shape.

    I’m not sure if any of that matters but I have to ask. If this is too much I understand. I’d gladly take an email address and ask these questions myself. 🙂

    Rick Daugherty

    • ericswife October 10, 2012 at 11:23 pm #

      I would say that I would ask, but odds are good that I will forget, because I am in a whirlwind right now. I can say that Dr. Fedorenko is very easy to talk to and very accommodating for answering any questions through e-mail or phone call. He is busy like most doctors I know, but he takes questions very seriously and I appreciate that about him. You can e-mail him at: info@gemclinic.ru (attn: Dr.Fedorenko)
      I know that his protocol is pretty strict, and I am not sure if age will be a kick out factor here, so e-mail him asap.
      Thank you for the pep talk. Today is hickman line day and I am a nit nervous. *shaky hands*

    • ericswife October 11, 2012 at 1:00 am #

      Would you believe it!? I actually remembered to ask! He says that your age will not kick you out, but you must be in good health. I would encourage you to write to him. He is really a fantastic doctor. (He just left with my husband to have a coffee.)

  2. Kathy Russell October 10, 2012 at 7:09 pm #

    I’m so sorry we didn’t warn you about the pizza; it’s tricky finding pizza that tastes like we expect it too. There are many wonderful dishes we so miss; one fast food item we miss are “triangles”, which are beef and potato pies.

    • ericswife October 11, 2012 at 1:22 am #

      Because God has been very gentle with me on this adventure, I have found much of the food to be pretty great, even the weird pizza. I’ve never been an adventurous eater, so this has been a very sweet surprise. Hugs and kisses!!

Honest Truth About Me: I'm going to need a lot of cheer leading to see this through. Your comments and encouragement mean the world to me.

