Day 9: Say What?

11 Oct

Did I ever tell you about the nail shop my dear Mom and I used to frequent?  No?  Well, it was run by some lovely ladies from Vietnam.  They spoke very little English, but we developed a friendship with them over the years and I grew quite accustomed to them holding my hands up to show each other, while making remarks about my hands in their native language.  It was cute and we all had a good laugh about it.

I was thinking about that this morning when I was wheeled back for yet another ultrasound.  My jugular vein has swollen and appears unhappy with the amount of attention he has received, this, after years of quietly chugging away and minding his own business.  I lay there while the tech looked at my results with a furrowed brow.  She called a colleague over for a second opinion and together they murmured in Russian about whatever it was they were seeing on the the screen.   I have never missed my little nail ladies so much.  The worst thing they ever talked about was my nail biting habit.

This is just another point in this journey when I must rest easy in the knowledge of the staff here and the God Who created them all.  After much murmuring among the ultrasound techs, the catheter doctor, and Dr. Fedorenko, it was decided that I would have a slightly smaller than the norm hickman line placed in my chest and would also receive a shot of antibiotics to my jugular.

The line is comfortably in place and I am now resting in my room with Dove’s dark chocolates and the warm glow of Facebook on my lap.  Tomorrow morning I go to the third floor to begin the final showdown with this crazy immune system of mine.

So help me, I hope to never have to type out the word “jugular” again.

8 Responses to “Day 9: Say What?”

  1. Ruth spearing October 11, 2012 at 7:06 am #

    I hope you also never retype that word too!! You arnelooking well concidering all the priding and poking! Stay strong you are doing incredibly well x in my thoughts as always x

  2. Becky October 11, 2012 at 8:17 am #

    Keep it up ninja! God’s got this!

  3. Aunt Lori October 11, 2012 at 8:19 am #

    We’re all still with you here. Aunt Lisa prints out your blog every 2-3 days for Grandma to read. So we’re all up to date and going thru this with you (kinda, maybe following is a better word). I hope you feel our strength. You come from a long line of strong women. You’ve got this strength in you also. You’ve proven that and are proving that. Hug Eric for me. Love,love Aunt Lori

    • ericswife October 11, 2012 at 9:00 am #

      I wear the banner of the women in our family with much pride. I do feel your strength. Please tell Grandma that I am reading Hind’s Feet on High Places, just as she requested.

  4. Janette Scarborough October 11, 2012 at 9:56 am #

    Have been thinking about one of those choruses we used to sing based on Exodus 15:26b … a short chorus that I have always believed was one of those anointed ones. I truly believe something happens when we praise Him and I am singing this song for you today and remembering that in essence, God was saying in these scriptures that “It’s Me … no one else … I AM the one … I AM the one that does this. You can count on ME”

    ♪ ♫ I am the Lord that healeth thee,
    I am the Lord your healer ♭♫
    I sent my Word to heal your disease
    I AM the Lord your healer ♫ ♪

  5. Pat Walt October 11, 2012 at 1:53 pm #

    Amy, I’m here for you anytime you need a spiritual cheer leading session! My heart and prayers are with you, whether you are in the valley of pain or on the mountain of joy! I am praying for you to succeed in your fight with MS and I’m sending you every bit of strength I have! P.S. Do you know why pirates can’t play cards? The captain’s always standing on the deck!!! God Bless!

  6. Bea Sneed October 11, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

    We’re praying for and look forward to your update each day. Lots of hugs and kisses sent your way!

  7. Wendy nash October 11, 2012 at 2:38 pm #

    Lord, Father of all, Abba; I place Amy at your feet and ask you touch upon her. For peace, for comfort and for contentment with where she is at during this difficult procedure. I know she loves you and depends on you with her very life and I ask that you reward her faith with healing to her jugular. That there are no further complication to it and it closes up and stops being swollen. I thank you, Father, for your answer to this request and praise your name all day long! In Jesus name, Amen!

Honest Truth About Me: I'm going to need a lot of cheer leading to see this through. Your comments and encouragement mean the world to me.

