Day 8: A Day Off

10 Oct

After all the excitement that was yesterday, I was very pleased when Dr. Fedorenko told us last night that we would have no procedures today.  The catheter was removed from my neck, the IV removed from my arm, and I was allowed to sleep more restfully than I have since our arrival.

Phoebe is upstairs from me and will be receiving her stem cells today, likely already has.  While she is still technically without an immune system, it gives me much joy to know that her new one will soon kick in and she will find herself MS free.  She reported this morning that she had a spot of energy that reminded her of what it was like to not have MS.  Dr.Fedorenko told her that that would be how it goes through the next year as her body reclaims its ownership of running things without that darned passenger.

Tomorrow afternoon, I will be going upstairs to have my hickman line installed.  I have great hope that the procedure is less grueling than the catheter in my neck, but I continue to remind myself that nothing is worse than MS.  I will spend the night here in our room with Eric after that, and then will go back upstairs to begin my time in isolation to receive the chemotherapy that will stomp out the MS.

I will leave you with a picture of me moments after the line was removed, and then another from today when I was finally able to enjoy knowing that the blasted thing was truly gone.

6 Responses to “Day 8: A Day Off”

  1. fromcheaptherapy October 10, 2012 at 6:58 am #

    …am sending triumphant Ninja cheers! may today be a restful and healing one for you and Eric.

    • ericswife October 10, 2012 at 7:01 am #

      So far, so good! Cheers to you!

  2. Ruth spearing October 10, 2012 at 7:25 am #

    Whatever way you look at it you are so many stages closer to stopping your ms. Can you still see you husband whilst you are in isolation or are you not allowed visitors?? Is your immune system totaly wiped or not? I know with one treatment you don’t need your vaccinations and one you do! Hope you still manage to let us know how your doing. I not good luck and enjoy a restful day x

    • ericswife October 10, 2012 at 7:50 am #

      I am receiving a non-myeloablative transplant, which means that my immune system will not be completely shut down and I will not need to be re-vaccinated. Eric will be able to visit me in the room, though he plans to take advantage of the time and see the sights of Moscow while he can. I expect daily visits and reports of his adventures.

  3. Nikki October 10, 2012 at 7:43 am #

    Wait for it…..more tears of joy for you as you continue on your journey to rid your body of MS. We prayed for you all again this morning during our devo time and the girls are beginning to ask questions and really get interested in what your journey is all about. They told me not to forget to pray for your kids and parents, too. They said that God needs to be with them and keep them strong too because it must be hard for them not to be with you during this time. You are loved, Amy Peterson and you are going to beat this!!! God speed!!

    • ericswife October 10, 2012 at 7:52 am #

      Thank you for your continued prayers and encouragements. This is not easy, but it is truly an adventure I wouldn’t trade for anything. When you know that God is in every moment, it seems easy enough to just fall in line and take things as they come. Hugs to you and your sweet girls!

Honest Truth About Me: I'm going to need a lot of cheer leading to see this through. Your comments and encouragement mean the world to me.

