Day 14: It’s My Birthday!! For Reals!

16 Oct

The common saying when people get their stem cells back is that it is their “birthday,” but I get my cells back tomorrow.  Today, though, is my actual birthday.  I woke up this morning feeling a whole new sense of what this next year will look like.

I woke up thinking about health moving forward and not backward, about days outside in the heat with my children without my brain seizing up like an unoiled motor.  I thought about long strolls with my husband, hikes deep into the woods with no worrisome mental notes about prepared energy for the return.  I thought about performing Scripture like never before: with vigor, with strength, with no cane!

I sat down this morning for my regular run of antibiotic IV, followed by a bit of tea and toast, and a perusal of the ratty Hollywood gossip mags I brought from home (poor Lindsay Lohan.  Will she ever get her act together?)  My quiet morning was interrupted by a friendly lady who carried with her a barber’s cape and clippers.  She says to me, “Ahmie?  something, something, something in Russian?” and then gestures to my head and points to a chair in my room.

I can’t lie, this bald head is pretty much rocking my birthday.  Take that, MS!  You will never take another thing from me, my husband  my children, my friends, my family, the sweet homeless lady I want to chat with,  the dog I want to stop and pet, the trips I want to take, the microphones I want to hog all to myself.  You get nothing more from me than a pile of hair.  It is truly a lovely birthday.

I feel strong today.  The good doctor says that I am looking very well and he continues to be pleased with my progress (though he remains furrowed in the brow about my constipation.  truth talk.)  I get my 2.1 million stem cells tomorrow and then the rebuilding begins.  I couldn’t ask for a better birthday, except I do hope to have a HUGE bash to celebrate all of you when I return (after a month or so of further stateside isolation)  I love you all.  Mean it.

(check back later for pictures of the bald head.  I am nothing if not transparent on the process.)

14 Responses to “Day 14: It’s My Birthday!! For Reals!”

  1. Linda Luckstead Benskin October 16, 2012 at 5:41 am #

    Sorry about the abdominal inconvenience, but that is SO much better than hugging a bucket. Simethicone is great for relieving gas, BTW, if the ginger tea stops being sufficient.

  2. Linda Luckstead Benskin October 16, 2012 at 6:20 am #

    I keep looking at this meter and thinking about your birthday, precious. You deserve a present, yes!

  3. Laura H... October 16, 2012 at 6:32 am #

    Moving around helps with constipation. That’s what I did in the hospital with my second baby. I would get the furrowed brow, do some leg exercises and things would begin moving again. With my first and third, I was already constantly on the move, so it was never a problem! I wonder if it would work for you?

    • ericswife October 16, 2012 at 6:37 am #

      Maybe, if I had the stamina for a bit of exercise. Right now, I am happy to just sit here in my toot clouds and take the furrowed brows. He put me on something to help, so we shall see. 😉

      • Laura H... October 16, 2012 at 6:26 pm #

        Ah, it’s not really exercise, as that is pretty much frowned on here until a month postpartum. Just pulling your knees up to your chest while lying on the bed. Or while lying down, bend your knees upward and then tilt them to the side. This kind of twists your torso a bit to move things in your lower abdomen around. Feels great, too, cause it’s a bit of stretching those muscles that you otherwise don’t use while in bed all day. Of course the biggest rule is, if it is too much trouble, don’t do it! No need to strain yourself over this issue. ❤ Love you, Amy! Take care. ^-^

  4. Tammy October 16, 2012 at 8:22 am #

    Happy Happy Birthday!!! After some much needed recouping from your battle, I would just love to see something try and stop you from your plans for the next 40 years! 🙂

  5. Brooke Slick October 16, 2012 at 9:01 am #

    Happy, happy birthday!! I am so excited for you and for all of us who may follow in your footsteps one day, because you had the bravery to do it first. Thank you for keeping it real and sharing every fabulous and/or crappy moment. It’s going to be a good day!

  6. FergsMouseTrips October 16, 2012 at 9:13 am #

    Happy Birthday!!! Other than the day you were born, this is going to be one of the best ever as you realize a hope that has been longed for coming true!

  7. Jhansi October 16, 2012 at 9:22 am #

    Happy Birthday! May your body continue to grow in strength to match your spirit from this day forward. Thank you for sharing your journey.

  8. Aunt Lori October 16, 2012 at 10:51 am #

    I can tell the toot jokes and gas are keeping you mildly entertained. And if I know you, you would like to elaborate with the toot jokes but are pretty sure it would not be appropriate here on the blog.

    • ericswife October 16, 2012 at 10:56 am #

      It is really good to be so well known and loved.

  9. Jessica Dennington October 16, 2012 at 11:07 am #

    Happy Birthday!!! WHAT A JOYFUL DAY!!! So much to celebrate and I’m sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo excited for you and the miracle of health you are receiving as a gift this year!!!! And you are doing just that – RECEIVING with full faith. So many verses that say God will give to you if you ask and receive without a doubt. And, with that you are giving every single one of us a present on your birthday. The present of seeing what true belief in God’s power and promises are capable of! Thank you!!!

  10. Heidi October 16, 2012 at 11:38 am #

    HappybirthdaytoyouhappybirthdaytoyouhappybirthdaydearAmyhappybirthdaytoyouandmanymooooore!

  11. Mike Glenn October 16, 2012 at 5:01 pm #

    Happy Birthday, Amy!!!
    I LOVED LOVED LOVED this post…..A new beginning for you on your birthday….Your HOPE is energetic and electrifying….Your posts are inspirational…WOW!!!!!!
    MIKE

Honest Truth About Me: I'm going to need a lot of cheer leading to see this through. Your comments and encouragement mean the world to me.

