Onward Through the Fog!

28 Dec

Thank you for all the kind support and prayers you have offered during this leg of the journey.  I wanted to pop in and share some thoughts about where I am now, some three months (2.5) since transplant.

I was talking to a friend recently who asked me a question I have been asked more than once, “When are you going to take over the world now that you have kicked MS to the curb?”  Hours later, I was chatting with God while going about the business of housework when I felt Him inform me that my task was not to concern myself with where I will be next year or next month.  My task is to simply do today what can be done today and do it well.

My priority for the day cannot be to tango with an unknown future, it must be my priority to do the work in front of me and nothing more.  This is a freeing piece of advice which I think bodes well for each one of us.  It is how I managed 18 years in a body which was falling apart and it is how I will mange the next 12-18 months in a body that is coming together.

Over the years, I adjusted many things to accommodate the role MS played in my day to day.  I made these adjustments without really noticing, but I have easily noticed as some of these areas improve and I have to adjust accordingly.  An example of this is as simple as how I unload the dishwasher.  Formerly, I would not take the basket containing the silverware out of the dishwasher because replacing the basket proved to be too difficult to be convenient.   Last week I was unloading the dishwasher and, only I after I popped the silverware basket back in its place with ease, did I even notice that I had taken it out.  My subconscious appears to be adjusting just as easily to positive improvements as it did to negative losses.

My walking pace and gait have continued to improve.  I no longer use the electric carts at the grocery store, or need to bring one along for outings.  This has been a huge bonus for my family and for me.  My daughter and I recently walked Target for a full hour while I sipped my Starbucks and she her smoothie – just like regular folks!  She and I both found much joy in such a simple outing.

I have also been dabbling in my former love of trying to figure out how to make certain convenience items homemade.  Back in the olden days I made my own bread, bar-b-que sauce, cinnamon rolls, household cleaners and such.  I have not been making bread or anything that grand, but I have made my own brown sugar cubes (to go in my tea) and have been making my own vinegar based cleaners again.   I’m no granola Mom, but I do like keeping ingredients simple, non-toxic, and inexpensive.  This takes energy and I am happy to have it.

Thank you for following along and for your continued prayers for my family and the good folks in Russia.  I thank God for you in my prayers and love you all as much as ever.  Mean it.

20 Responses to “Onward Through the Fog!”

  1. Ginger December 28, 2012 at 2:26 pm #

    Sweet! Thanks for the update! I love how your mind/body automatically go back to the old ways of doing thing without you having to think about changing those accommodations. And I love how your kids are enjoying this journey with you. God is especially good to you, huh

    • ericswife December 28, 2012 at 3:04 pm #

      He has been good in the past and has secured my future. You will hear no complaints from this lady. 🙂

  2. Your Fave Cousin, Gina December 28, 2012 at 3:19 pm #

    Love you, dear Cousin!!!

    And I am super excited that maybe in a few months we can peruse the aisles of Target together….I sure do miss Target! Pretty sure the angels will sing the first few (hundred) visits….

    • ericswife December 29, 2012 at 1:35 pm #

      It is so on!! Let’s tear that Target up!!

  3. FergsMouseTrips December 28, 2012 at 3:25 pm #

    Glad to see the update. And looking at one day at a time is all any of us are supposed to do no matter what our health. Thanks for the reminder!

  4. Brooke Slick December 28, 2012 at 4:21 pm #

    This is good stuff!! Maybe, a year from now, I’ll be using my right foot again, instead of my left foot, for the brake pedal. The possibilities are endless. Thanks for the inspiration!

    • ericswife December 29, 2012 at 1:37 pm #

      Also? Not to brag or anything, but I can use liquid eyeliner again and get it on straight without looking like a heroin addict. Next fall: you, me and some high heels. Possibilities really are endless. 🙂

      • Brooke Slick December 31, 2012 at 3:08 pm #

        I just saw this response!! Laughing so hard. You’ve completely made my New Year’s Eve unforgettable, well, actually, my entire 2012. I may take you up on that. So, when your kids inform you that there’s a bald lady walking up the sidewalk, wearing a pair of heels, it’s just me. LOL Happy New Year!!!

  5. Linda Luckstead Benskin December 28, 2012 at 11:01 pm #

    I appreciate simple blessings, like having a washing machine, so I especially appreciate reading that you appreciate simple things as well. God seldom lays out His plans for us far in advance – I suspect we would be too overwhelmed by them. Instead, He puts tasks before us, one at a time, to lead us where we need to go and to teach us what we need to learn. When we are ready, we see the next phase of the journey. This should teach us trust. I am not always a good student…

    • ericswife December 29, 2012 at 1:40 pm #

      I am a horrible student, but I have tried and failed enough times to preach a rousing “how to” sermon. Ha! I take a lot of pleasure in the simple things and especially enjoy the simple order that comes from homemaking. I think you and I were cut from the same cloth in a lot of areas. Love you lots!!

  6. Aunt Lori December 29, 2012 at 11:14 am #

    I’m still here, still following, still reading, and still praying. Love, love, love you, Aunt Lori :0)

    • Janette Scarborough December 29, 2012 at 12:58 pm #

      Love your attitude. There is a world of wisdom in your “…simply do today what can be done today” comment. It reminded me of that song “One Day At A Time Sweet Jesus”. One step at a time and one day at a time. Even in AA (12 Step Program) they use the same concept. (There is a joke in there somewhere and if your grandfather Jimmy was here he would find it I have no doubt.) Anyway, you sound good and I am still wishing and praying for a fantastic New Year of peace and healing. The Lord is your strength and song.

      • ericswife December 29, 2012 at 1:33 pm #

        I love that song and the message. He holds the future and He redeems the past, I have my dear Grandparents’ legacy to remind me of that truth. I love you bunches!!

    • ericswife December 29, 2012 at 1:41 pm #

      I love, love, LOVE you too, Aunt Lori!! I am super eager to get to see all of you!

  7. Deborah Phalen December 29, 2012 at 1:16 pm #

    I am so encouraged reading your updates. I need to know though..how do you make brown sugar cubes?

    • ericswife December 29, 2012 at 1:30 pm #

      :)! Using brown or white sugar: 2 cups sugar with 1-2 tablespoons water. Form into a long rectangle shaped box, then cut into cubes. Place cubes on wax paper and let dry for 2-3 hours. Store in non air tight container. (I originally stored them in an airtight container and found that there were more crumbs than non.) two pounds of brown sugar cubes cost 14 dollars and it only costs me two dollars to make the same amount, using locally produced, raw brown sugar.

  8. Pat Walt December 29, 2012 at 4:32 pm #

    As you are recovering from MS, I am recovering from chemo. We are “together” in spirit! I love the reminder to live today and pray for tomorrow’s unknowns! God Bless you, Amy, for being such an encouragement in my life’s walk!

  9. Laura H... January 3, 2013 at 10:46 pm #

    That sounds so easy! I look forward to hearing more about the easy way to go granola momma. lol! So glad to hear that you are taking it one day at a time. I often have to take it one minute at a time. Today is an especially bad day for me. TOOO much fogginess and lightheadedness. Me no like.

    God bless you on your journey, Amy! Thanks for filling us in from time to time. Love you!!

    • Laura H... January 3, 2013 at 10:46 pm #

      Forgot to check the boxes to get notifications… So I am just doing that now. ^-^

  10. Briana January 6, 2013 at 9:48 pm #

    Good to hear how it’s going. Even better to bump into you in person. I have to remember to check your blog though, as one homebody to another, that hardly ever happens! You look fabulous. 🙂

Honest Truth About Me: I'm going to need a lot of cheer leading to see this through. Your comments and encouragement mean the world to me.

