Day 34: A Little Tired, but a Lot Blessed

4 Nov

Here’s the thing with that lovely hickman line: it daily juiced me up with immune support.  Do you have any idea just how many great things your immune system does all by its little self all day long and how sorry a shape a person is in when it gets tweaked back down to a trickle?  Do yourself a favor, if you have a good immune system, and tell God that you really appreciate its quiet service.

I had my last dose yesterday morning, and then was cut off like Otis at the bar.  Waking up this morning, I felt like I had been hit by a truck.  As is to be expected, some of the ol’ MS symptoms kind of toyed with me.  Not anything like in the past, but I was reminded that elements of it still linger and will ebb and flow as I go through the next 12-18 months of recovery.

Dr. Fedorenko gave me a long acting shot of steroids, and while I am not a particular fan of steroid side effects, I was thankful for the renewed energy they gave and what I was able to do today as a result.

We were able to make arrangements with one of my doctor friends to pick us up from the hospital this morning and attend the nearest place of worship.  This is what I want to talk about, more than missing the immune support.

It is a congregation of about 120 members, but they must meet in two services because their facilities are very cramped.  Many of the members must travel up to an hour to get there.  There was a gentleman there who was kind enough to translate many portions of the service for us, but I must admit that I spent most of my time just relishing the common knowledge that we were all there communicating with a God Who could understand us all and that we all, though unable to communicate with one another, were all in agreement about Who this God is and what He is capable of!

Eric and I had the opportunity to visit at great length with some of the members and will likely be able to meet with them again during the next week after I am released from Pirogov.   Please continue your prayers for our brothers and sisters in Russia, that their faith may be bold, that their stand be firm, and that their message be spread in this remarkable country.

I will forever be grateful that God saw fit to send me to Russia for my healing.   Thank you for your continued prayers for my healing, for this journey, for my family and for God’s people in Russia.  Love you all.  Mean it.

6 Responses to “Day 34: A Little Tired, but a Lot Blessed”

  1. Katherine November 4, 2012 at 9:48 am #

    That is awesome, Amy!! That truth hits me quite regularly over here, as I look around at people who look and speak quite differently than me…but all I see is Family because we love & serve the same amazing & mighty God. What an amazing blessing that is!! Love you!! Mean it 🙂

  2. Brooke Slick November 4, 2012 at 9:51 am #

    🙂

  3. Becky November 4, 2012 at 11:06 am #

    Soooo awesome!

  4. Linda Luckstead Benskin November 4, 2012 at 4:08 pm #

    Worshiping with fellow believers in a language one does not understand is an experience few people can really appreciate. We were so blessed when we worshiped with a small village church in Kyekyewere, but they were very confused when we told them it was not necessary to provide an interpreter. We knew the big picture already, could find the Bible verses in our English Bibles to read along, and the details were not important at that time. Blessings on you and Eric as you adjust to your newfound independence from assistance.

  5. Tandy November 4, 2012 at 4:51 pm #

    I truly believe that some of my/our biggest blessings have come through worship & other interactions with believers in different countries/different languages (even here!). You can TOTALLY & COMPLETELY feel The Spirit in those places because you KNOW He is the one and only true God. So thankful that y’all were able to share in their family time. What a gift to you and to them. May you have many more precious moments with them during your time in Moscow! Big hugs from Round Rock, Friend!

  6. Laura H... November 4, 2012 at 6:11 pm #

    God is awesome! Thank you so much, both of you, for taking the time to visit the local church and fellowship and talk with the Christians there! Since I am living in a country that is less than 2% Christian, I can imagine how hard it might be for them and how encouraging it was to have you two there. I hope one day that you are able to visit a few of the churches in Japan as well. Though I know that it will be a long time in coming. Love you both, Truly. ❤
    Laura H…

Honest Truth About Me: I'm going to need a lot of cheer leading to see this through. Your comments and encouragement mean the world to me.

