Day 31.5: Not a Bad Finish

1 Nov

He MAKES me lay down by still waters.

I think this may well have to be my theme for the next several months as I recover.  My day in bed, with a touch of misery, and a first show of poor attitude with Dr. Fedorenko (which is probably what earned me the espresso) forced me to really consider the fullness of what my body has gone through.  Not just in these past six weeks, but over 18 years of daily plodding along with disease.  Recovery will happen, but I believe it will be its own kind of adventure of trial and error along the way.  May I always heed His call to lay by still waters wherever they may be.

It is now nearly 10pm in Moscow.  I managed to get out of my bed and take a short stroll with Eric.  The doctor encourages these walks, as they assist with the workings of my poor intestines, which really do take a beating from the chemo, and also to encourage the work of the stem cells which are aggressively settling into their new homes.

As per my wise mother’s long ago advice, I tidied my room before I took my walk.  And when I returned to my fresh made bed, I washed my face (and my scalp), put on my pajamas, and am now nice and cozy in my bed ready for sleep.

Tomorrow, we remove my hickman line, the line by which all drugs have been given, all blood has been drawn, and the line by which I have been constantly reminded that I am assaulting this disease.  I won’t miss it, but I was pleased to have it.

I wanted to write this quick post just to let you know that the day did not linger in misery and I am now feeling fine and ready to rest comfortably.  Thank you for your prayers.  I surely do not know how people endure such things without God and His people.  I love you all.  Mean it.

4 Responses to “Day 31.5: Not a Bad Finish”

  1. Linda Luckstead Benskin November 1, 2012 at 3:19 pm #

    Blessings on you and Eric, Amy. This is just the beginning of the adventure, and already you are proving yourselves to be excellent warriors. Chin up! Onward!

  2. Jeff November 1, 2012 at 4:19 pm #

    Amy, through the good and bad days, I truly value your honest feelings everyday. This is someting that I want to do and your thoughts and feelings are helping me prepare my mind in facing this treatment in the future. You are an inspiration to many and i and very thankful that I get to “tune in” everyday. I hope you have a better day tomorrow. Take care.

  3. Karen November 1, 2012 at 5:25 pm #

    Amy,
    I am a new friend of Ginger McBride’s here in Colorado Springs. She has shared verbally with me your story and today sent me a link to your blog. I have been reading your story for the past hour or so and am so proud of you and so blessed to see how God is blessing your journey. I will be adding you to my rather lengthy prayer list. May God continue to bless your journey.

  4. Janelle Jones November 2, 2012 at 8:46 am #

    I am humbled each and every time I read one of your blogs. Who said anything about this lifes journey being a cakewalk? Not one of us has been spared and we sometimes forget who is truly in control of this “walk”. God is right there and there and there. He walks.

Honest Truth About Me: I'm going to need a lot of cheer leading to see this through. Your comments and encouragement mean the world to me.

