Day 29: Beginning of the End

30 Oct

We are still on course for a November 6 release from the hospital, followed by a week of hotel bound out patient care.  Today I am receiving an IV that, according to the good Dr.Fedorenko, is key to my finishing the process healthy.  He explained that it would aid my immune system greatly and add antibodies which are necessary.  I tried, I really did, but I could not figure out what in the world he was saying, so I am just sitting here and taking the IV on the same faith I have popped every pill and laid down for every test along the way.

What he did say that I clearly understood, was that I must rest for thirty minutes to an hour after this IV (it is making me a bit sleepy), but that then I may actually venture outside of my isolation room and into the great outdoors if I am so inclined afterwards.    A cozy as this little room as been, I do feel like I have been a rat in a cage for these weeks and I am excited to step outside that door, though he stressed I must wear a mask.  Whatever dude!  I can handle a mask!  I get to go outside!!  With Eric!!  And we can hold hands!!

Sorry to get PDA all over your computer screen so early in the morning, but today’s news has me pretty excited.

After today, we will continue tapering my IV antibiotic doses and other pills which I have been taking to protect my intestines and mucus linings from the chemo.  I will be monitored very closely during this time to make sure that everything continues to hum along as well as it all has so far.

So, there you have it.  A short and sweet update because there really isn’t much to report except that God is good, Russia is lovely, Pirogov is as a fine a hospital as I’ve ever known, and I get to go for a stroll with my husband!

Thank you for your continued prayers for my family, me, and the good people of Russia.  I am eager to get home, but I want to soak up every last drop of this adventure for what it worth.  I am so very pleased that you all came along for the journey.  I love you all.  Mean it.

9 Responses to “Day 29: Beginning of the End”

  1. Brooke Slick October 30, 2012 at 7:13 am #

    Good stuff!!

  2. FergsMouseTrips October 30, 2012 at 9:02 am #

    Enjoy your stroll, the fresh air, and Eric!

  3. Abbie McAdams October 30, 2012 at 9:12 am #

    So glad you get to finally hold hands with Eric. That will be the best medicine of all.

  4. Linda Luckstead Benskin October 30, 2012 at 11:24 am #

    Anxiously awaiting your report about the wonders of Moscow. Something tells me that it will look different to you than it did before your isolation – more cheerful, at the least.

  5. Aunt Lori October 30, 2012 at 12:52 pm #

    I can not believe this stay in Russia is almost over and you will be home where you belong. Russia is just a little too far away for my comfort zone. It had to be done, I understand, but now you can come home soon. We’re all still here, following and praying. Love, love, love Aunt Lori

  6. Pat Walt October 30, 2012 at 2:19 pm #

    I love the idea of a stroll with Eric while holding hands, but I’m still praying for the day you can hug, hug, hug him! I get so much from my hugs at church, I want you to have the same. God Bless

  7. Mike Glenn October 30, 2012 at 4:50 pm #

    I am glad to be a part of this journey, too! It has been quite a ride…We still have not seen God’s full intentions but what we have witnessed has been His abundant grace in action…You have shared each step and we have seen how God has led you, protected you, provided for you and cared for you…Your faith has been uplifting…Thank you for glorifying God through your experience…We continue to pray as you are entering the “home stretch”….
    MIKE

  8. Ronnie Patterson October 30, 2012 at 6:48 pm #

    While in Russia, Amy has continuously shared her journey with us while giving all credit to God. She has touched many hearts and changed many lives with her openness and honesty. Let’s help her in this experience by participating in an on-line catalog order where all proceeds will go to help Amy and her family. If you will go to http://www.mythirtyone.com/ronniepatterson, click on place an order and click on Amy Peterson’s Catalog Party, you will be able to find lots of wonderful totes, purses, wallets and many other items that will make your Christmas shopping experience simple and easy while helping out our sweet sister, Amy. All orders can be placed on-line and shipped directly to your home. If you are outside the Austin area, please be prepared to pay an additional $4.00 for direct shipment. Thanks so much for helping! May God continue to bless Amy and all those that have been blessed by sharing in her journey!
    (If you have any questions, please email me at mail.ronniepatterson@gmail.com)

    • Ronnie Patterson October 30, 2012 at 10:11 pm #

      Please excuse a correction in my comments above: If you live in the Austin area, your orders will come to my home and I will get them to you. If you live outside the Austin area, please be prepared to pay an additional $4.00 for direct shipment to your home. Thanks!!!

Honest Truth About Me: I'm going to need a lot of cheer leading to see this through. Your comments and encouragement mean the world to me.

