Day 28: The Gloves are Coming Off!

29 Oct

After ten days of being completely isolated from Eric, seeing him only occasionally, standing at the hospital grounds and waving up to my third floor isolation room, I was finally allowed visits with him, though only if he wore the hat, the mask, the drapes, and pretty much all the garb one wears when dealing with a tiny baby in NICU.

Those were nice visits.  We joked that it was like a proper courtship, because he would get all dressed to see me and then enter under the wary eye of my nurse who made sure we remained well spaced apart from one another for all visits.   He would bring me cookies, we’d watch a little American television, and then he would leave me with a friendly wave that would make June Cleaver proud.

Today’s blood leukocyte numbers rolled in and with it came the news that my darling Eric may now visit me with no more face mask and no more silly hats!  Still no touching, but this, friends, is progress!  We are now at one week until I am discharged from the hospital and will be staying at the hotel down the street, where I can pop in for daily out-patient visits.  Weather permitting (we have strict orders from the doctor about this one), we hope to get a little touring done and see some sights before we leave.

Dr. Fedorenko continues to marvel at the speed of my progress and at the near complete lack of complications.  I explained to him that I happen to know the One who invented science and that we are in regular communication regarding my status.  I think he is starting to understand me better every day.

So, that’s the happenings for today!  Plans are being made for dismissal, hair continues to fall, eyebrows continue their firm grip (go eyebrows!!), Eric gets to breathe freely in my presence, there is a hotel waiting with a bathtub in it for me, and I am mere weeks away from hugging on my sweet babies.  Phew!

Thank you all for following along, for your continued prayers and for your support.  I do not want to be glib about the serious nature of this dismissal from the hospital, as we will have to take great care in maintaining my health outside of this very well germ guarded facility, though we do take some comfort in knowing that we will not be far from the hospital should anything arise, prior to our return.

We look forward also to further visits with the brothers and sisters here in Russia that we have been blessed to meet along the way and do hope you will continue your prayers for them all.

8 Responses to “Day 28: The Gloves are Coming Off!”

  1. Laura H... October 29, 2012 at 4:37 am #

    That is fabulous, Amy! So excited for you to see your kids again and get real hugs from people❤❤❤ I hope you’ll get a chance to check out the local church while you’re there. I am sure they could use some (safely guarded from germs…) encouragement.

    • ericswife October 29, 2012 at 7:10 am #

      That’s the plan! I have been so blessed with the folks who have tended to me and have been able to make contacts from right here in my little ol’ isolation room. Proof that God is BIGGER than even this tiny cell.

  2. goodbyeMS October 29, 2012 at 9:44 am #

    Whoo-hoo!! You have got to get a picture of your “first” hug with Eric 🙂 What’s the weather like there in Moscow? I am so happy “life’s manager” got our memo about smooth sailing for your journey !

    • ericswife October 29, 2012 at 10:39 am #

      It is snowing. Still no hugs or handshakes, but I got to sit at the same table with him for a nice cup of tea. Maybe tomorrow we can graduate to a high five? So romantic, this story!

  3. Wendy Nash October 29, 2012 at 9:55 am #

    So excited to hear this great news! Getting out soon will be such a blessing! All the things you are looking forward to are just about at your reach! Especially the hugs, from hubby then kids then others! It’s a magical feeling to be in another’s arms again after such a long time without that special touch! It’s been a pleasure to follow your journey; it’s not over, so I will continue to watch for new and special posts along your way. God has been such a beautiful part to observe as you have gone through this process so far and I imagine He will continue to be a most important part!!

    • ericswife October 29, 2012 at 10:42 am #

      I still have more than a week until discharge from inpatient, so I need all the prayers continued. I could not be more pleased with how this has all gone and I appreciate all the smart pointers you have left for me along the way. It is good to have comrades who have gone before!

  4. Linda Luckstead Benskin October 29, 2012 at 11:04 am #

    Keeping the prayers coming. Good clean snow should be OK, but if it is windy too, the stress may be more than your delicate condition should endure. I’d listen to the doc concerning tourist stuff. BTW, if you go to any popular place, try to arrive 5 minutes before it opens. We have found that tour groups are inevitably late, so early = private tour = isolation. Good for you!

  5. Pat Walt October 29, 2012 at 4:30 pm #

    JOY JOY JOY PRAISE PRAISE PRAISE Keep planting those “seeds” for the Lord!! My prayers continue for steady recovery and hugs from Eric!!

Honest Truth About Me: I'm going to need a lot of cheer leading to see this through. Your comments and encouragement mean the world to me.

