Day 27: Sweetest English Word I’ve Heard Yet

28 Oct

While it is all well and good that I have had my chemotherapy, stem cells added and am now getting loads of immune support in the meantime, this cannot continue as my level of care for infinity, otherwise, what’s the point?  The word that we have been pensively waiting to hear is “engraftment.”  This means that the stem cells have not only returned home, but that they have grafted to their home hosts and are beginning the work of molding a brand new immune system for me.

Today the word came that my stem cells have begun engrafting.  This means that my level of care will change and I will begin to receive less immune system support via IV antibiotics.  I had been noticing an increase in pain in my legs and lower back leading up to this and the good Dr.Fedorenko confirmed that this indeed due to engraftment.  He also expressed his great pleasure that I continue with my sweat filled nights of detoxing, so he has kindly added an IV of fluids + low grade narcotic to my regimen.  This has aided my comfort level considerably.

As far as other symptoms and concerns of treatment go, I remain fever free, in moderately good health, my weight has gone up as my appetite has come back with a vengeance (the morning porridge lady has gotten used to my repeat requests for just a little more, please.)  This has not been an easy therapy, by any stretch, but I believe that I have had the best of care and have experienced the best of possible outcomes from each step of the way.

My hair held on longer than most thought it would.  Even the doctors suggested I may have a genetic propensity to keeping it, as some small number do.  All hope was dashed in an evening when a quick scratch of my head yielded a confetti spray of hair all over my computer screen.  This has continued (though now contained in an aqua hair net) and I suspect will finish with a squeaky bald head in two days time.  Bonus for us ladies is that underarm hair is included in the package, so there are always silver linings. Sorry to report that leg hair remains a staunch companion.

Thank you all for your continued prayers for me in this time.  I love you all.  Mean it.

And I do so beg of you to add your fervent prayers for our dear brothers and sisters in Russia to your list.  They are truly a remarkable people.

8 Responses to “Day 27: Sweetest English Word I’ve Heard Yet”

  1. fromcheaptherapy October 28, 2012 at 6:31 am #

    Amy, Happy Engrafting Day!
    today, in my little Episcopal/Lutheran church, we celebrate Reformation Sunday. please know that’ll i’ll be sending you LOUD, healing and REFORMing cheers. know too, that our Russian brothers and sisters are also in my prayers.
    love ya’ll ~ mean it.

    • ericswife October 28, 2012 at 6:37 am #

      Thank you for your prayers!! When I asked what was the one thing America can do for them, the response was, “PRAY!” I will never cease to do so.

  2. Pam October 28, 2012 at 6:33 am #

    God bless you as you continue this process of hosting new stem cells. The engrafting is certainly an answer to so many prayers.

    • ericswife October 28, 2012 at 6:55 am #

      Thank you for praising God with me in the wonderful work He is doing!

  3. Brooke Slick October 28, 2012 at 8:53 am #

    New word for the day…Engraftment. This has been added to my mental/visual dictionary with a definition which reads “happy, happy, joy, joy” and a visual description that looks like a mass of villagers, returning to their homes, after their village has been wiped out by a devastating fire/flood/earthquake (you pick), but, they are smiling as they rebuild, as they know that their community and faith will be stronger than it had ever been. Much like the Tree of Heaven from the novel A Tree Grows in Brooklyn.:)

    • ericswife October 28, 2012 at 11:18 am #

      :)!!!

  4. Laura H... October 28, 2012 at 11:16 am #

    That is just beautiful. 🙂

  5. Pat Walt October 28, 2012 at 3:11 pm #

    I love all the comments made so far! “Engraftment” IS the most beautiful word!! I am praying for any and all helps for your pain and night sweats! The first time I had chemo, I lost my hair and all hair down to my knees. I remember telling folks God started from the top down, but I wished He’d gone from the feet up instead. It was do funny to have no head hair and still have to shave my legs! But washing my face just continued up and over my head and down to my neck and — DONE! God continue to Bless you, Amy!!

Honest Truth About Me: I'm going to need a lot of cheer leading to see this through. Your comments and encouragement mean the world to me.

