Day 25: The Sweetest Russian Words I Ever Heard

26 Oct

Now, listen, I’ve had a lot of really sweet Russian spoken to me during my time here.  I understand almost none of it, but I get the tone and I appreciate the sentiment.  But the words I heard this morning from the nurse tech who handles the aseptic portion of my isolation cleaning spoke two words to me that I immediately knew (thankyouverymuch, Kathy Russell!) and she made my day.

Instead of handing me my normal sterile bag containing my sterile hospital gown, she gestured to the bedside drawer which held my own clothing and said, “Mozh-nah.”  To which I excitedly replied, “Mozh-nah?  Mozh-nah!?”  What she said was, “You may.”  And what I said was, “I may? I may!?  Oh, I could kiss you!!”

This means that my leukocyte numbers are in a safer zone and the hardest part is behind me.

I have so much more that I would like to share about some of my side conversations here, but I feel it best that I wait until I am stateside.  Please, please, please pray for our brothers and sisters in Russia.  They are strong and they are beautiful.

I love you all.  Mean it.

6 Responses to “Day 25: The Sweetest Russian Words I Ever Heard”

  1. Janette Scarborough October 26, 2012 at 8:15 am #

    Whenever I enter my computer room (which I would prefer to call my study but that probably does not apply because I’m not very studious), I immediately go to my home page. My home page is set for AMY GOES NINJA ON MS because I’m always ready for one of your updates. Just want to say that this morning you did my heart good and I am rejoicing with you…“leukocyte numbers are in a safer zone”…“You may.” Sweet words indeed!

  2. Jean October 26, 2012 at 9:00 am #

    We never know what God has in mind when He empowers us to move in his Will and Go where he leads. Kathy and Gil for years have had a heart for the Russian children, and God blessed them with the opportunity to go and learn much of the Russian language, at that time, God knew you would need their help and put you two together. So it is exciting to wonder, what He has in store for you in the future as you uses this time and this experience to help someone in the future. How Great is our God? Praise Him!

  3. Kathy Russell October 26, 2012 at 12:04 pm #

    Hi Amy, I’m delighted to hear that our crash course in essential Russian helped again. Mozh-nah is one of the best words going!! So glad that you are doing better. Enjoy your updates so very much. A highlight of each day. I’m so glad you love the Russian people.
    They are dear hearts if ever there were dear hearts!! Once they let you into their hearts, you really feel loved!!

  4. Pat Walt October 26, 2012 at 1:58 pm #

    Praises to God for your “beautiful Russian” words!! Prayers for our wonderful Russian friends and brethren who have helped you so much!! And prayers for you, Amy, as you have shown the “Light of God” to all those around you!! You have encouraged me so much!!

  5. Mike Glenn October 26, 2012 at 2:45 pm #

    I love these God-Given affirmations….Beautiful!!! Christ trancends all culture and language barriors….
    MIKE

  6. fromcheaptherapy October 26, 2012 at 5:30 pm #

    “Mozh-nah”. love those letters. love the words. love that message.
    love ya’ll ~ mean it…

Honest Truth About Me: I'm going to need a lot of cheer leading to see this through. Your comments and encouragement mean the world to me.

