Day 23: News and Notes

24 Oct

So, yesterday I experienced something I had not felt in well over two weeks: BOREDOM.  When you are near to death, as this procedure tends to pull you, boredom just doesn’t come into play.  I was ecstatic to be bored and simply sat there, doing nothing but grinning and enjoying the sensation of finally not being so near death.

I eagerly awaited today’s blood results, because I was certain that my boredom hinted at good news.  In his usual jovial fashion, Dr. Fedorenko (who just had a snazzy haircut, by the way) came to report that my numbers are going up quickly and that I will likely have only two more days of isolation.  I will remain in this room until I am discharged, but I will FINALLY be allowed my visits with Eric again and will even get to have a visit with his brother, who is here.

The doctor continues to be amazed at the tenacity of the hair on my head.  He believes it will fall out any day, Eric never believed it would.  Either way, I am not bummed that they went ahead and shaved it all off because I was happy to give MS one last parting gift.

(Cover your eyes fellows, this update is for the ladies) I started my menstrual cycle today.  I feel this is worth noting for a few reasons.  One is that the type of transplant I am receiving is non-myeloablative.   This means that my ovaries and all their functions will remain intact and performing normally, as today has proven.  I also mention it because it is important to tell the doctor when this happens so that your iron levels can be closely monitored, as your body is doing mega work elsewhere and may need assistance.

(You can come back now, fellows)  I dropped a very light weight shower head on my foot this morning and immediately received a wound far larger than the slight deserved.  This tells me that I will have to continue to be very aware of the perils I might put myself in as my body recovers from all this stem cell, chemo, ruckus activity.  Watch your little feet where they go.  And your fingers.  And your elbows.  Just watch out.

Thank you all for your continued prayers for me, my lovely husband, my family back home, and the good people at Pirogov hospital.  I love you all.  Mean it.

2 Responses to “Day 23: News and Notes”

  1. Linda Luckstead Benskin October 24, 2012 at 11:11 am #

    Praying for you to avoid injury and infection. So glad to hear the stem cells are finding their way home. Sorry for Phoebe. Blessings on you, dear!

  2. Aunt Lori October 24, 2012 at 2:28 pm #

    So sorry about Phoebe’s sister-n-law. What a bittersweet homecoming their family will have.

    Getting out of isolation is going to give you a big boost.

    Love you sweetheart, :0)

Honest Truth About Me: I'm going to need a lot of cheer leading to see this through. Your comments and encouragement mean the world to me.

