Day 22: A Lady in Waiting

23 Oct

My days have now become a bit of a sweet routine.  I wake in the morning to my tender nurses who clean my hickman line bandages, administer doses of pain medicine, draw blood, and then leave quietly with blown kisses through the thick glass.

I lay in my bed for a bit, sometimes dozing a bit more, before my breakfast arrives.  This has consistently been some form of porridge, with lots of sugar and butter, and slices of fresh made bread, with sometimes a hard boiled egg on the side.  And, of course, there is always my steaming mug of Earl Grey tea, which I have grown quite fond of, even as my coffee loving self quietly weeps deep inside of me.

After breakfast, I am met by another sweet nurse who attaches my hickman line to vials of antibiotics.  She is kind, and always waits until I have finished my meal to begin the process.

When her work is complete, my nurse tech arrives and gives me my garments for the day.  I go to the bathroom, where I undergo a cleansing that I think rivals Queen Esther herself, though the smells of the cleansers may not be as fancy.  All scrubbed and fresh faced, I enter my room which has been scrubbed clean and made super fresh with clean linens and completely de-cluttered.

This activity leaves me quite weak, so I am happy to make myself another cup of tea, lounge on my cozy bed, eat my cookies (they always leave cookies) and read a chapter or two of “Hind’s Feet on High Places.”  Exhausted, I lay back down and nap for perhaps an hour until I am provided with a snack of baked apples and fruit tea.

I have been in many hospitals before which insisted that rest was key to repair, but I believe that Pirogov takes this very seriously and enforces it as a strict code.

Dr. Fedorenko visited me this morning and said that my blood counts continue to hold steady.  My T-Lymphocytes (the wretched monsters who brought the MS) continue to be completely gone.  This means that my new guys will have no battle to wage at making their new homes.

And, so now, we wait.  We wait for my new immune system to recharge and begin the process of becoming what it was always supposed to be.  This could take four days. It could take seven.  It will still be many months before it fully reaches its highest.   I have a deep peace about all of this process and am happy to lounge, recline, read, sleep, eat and rest under the great care of this facility and the God who ordained it all just for me.

I should add that there is still a good deal of pain and discomfort involved with all this repairing, jabbing, and mending.  IVs are being run through me 2-3 times daily and I still get those stem cell mobilizing shots.   But it is nothing compared to the peace I feel at knowing that MS is off my radar.

Thank you for your continued prayers and for your continued offers of financial support.  We serve a fine God and His glory is evident in your hands.

I love you all.  Mean it.

5 Responses to “Day 22: A Lady in Waiting”

  1. Jean October 23, 2012 at 8:49 am #

    So thankful that God has poured into your soul ‘the peace that passes all understanding.”

    “Behold, the eye of the Lord is on those who fear Him; on those who hope for His loving-kindness. to deliver their soul from death, and to keep them alive in famine. Our souls waits for the Lord; He is our help and our shield. For our heart rejoices in Him, because we trust in His holy name.Let Thy loving-kindness, O Lord , be upon you, according as we have hoped in Thee. Psalms 34 18-22

    • ericswife October 23, 2012 at 9:02 am #

      YES!! Thank you!

  2. Pat Walt October 23, 2012 at 12:51 pm #

    Amy, I love the book you are reading! So encouraging to me and I hope for you! Prayers from all of us on the “Women of the churches of Christ” site — over 3400 strong and growing! And that doesn’t count all the churches praying for you, as well! God Bless!

  3. Janette Scarborough October 23, 2012 at 6:50 pm #

    This news is so wonderful to hear! You are still in our prayers. ____ Waiting to read the book you are going to write and hear the testimony you will tell…love you …PS I like the Psalms 34: 18-22

  4. Linda Luckstead Benskin October 23, 2012 at 9:51 pm #

    Prayed for you a lot as we were traveling. We are back in Austin now and will continue to pray for diminished pain, good rest, and lots of new bone marrow making new WBCs.

Honest Truth About Me: I'm going to need a lot of cheer leading to see this through. Your comments and encouragement mean the world to me.

