Day 21: Let’s Hear it for the Nurses!

22 Oct

The exterior door to this isolation room is your standard, gurney sized wide door with no window.  Upon entering the first room, you see a mini fridge and microwave to your right and a coat rack for nurses gowns to your left.  Each nurse has a gown dedicated to my room only.

They enter my exterior room wearing one set of gloves, hats, shoe smocks, and robes and then replace them all immediately before entering the interior room where I sit.  They then spray their freshly donned gloves with disinfectant before touching me in any way, or touching anything that may possibly touch me.

This is all done with such precision and concern that I can’t help but believe they hold this task among their highest and not the least of the grudge of their labor, though I imagine the process proves tedious.

While I have my shower, a nurse tech comes into my room and changes all my linens, sweeps, mops, scrubs the marble walls, and cleans all the windows.  No food is thrown away in my room, to avoid the possibility of spoilage, all is carried out of the room with haste.

I have regular IVs of antibiotics to assist with all this physical immune support and the IV machine is also dedicated to this room only, never leaving to go to another patient’s use.

In my room, I have a tea pitcher which they keep filled with purified water.  I have become quite the lover of the tea and cookies they keep on hand for my comfort.

I know that there are many who have had equally rewarding experiences at facilities around the world when it comes to receiving HSCT, so I would never try to take away from that, but for me, I believe Pirogov was built with me and my care in mind.

This morning’s nurse took special notes of my day’s events yesterday and had a chat with my dear Dr. Fedorenko.  I am now on “no need to request” two time daily pain injections.  Seriously, could not ask for a better team to help me get through this.

In MS repair news, I have this news to report: I am reading a book!!  I used to be the kid in the back of math class with a book open behind my schoolbook (sorry, Mrs. Quincey) and I almost always had a book I was reading.  Sometime over the past 7 years, my cognitive thinking has taken away from me that pleasure and reading has become a chore, in which I must work very hard to follow each page and keep up with names, plots, and twists.  I am reading “Hind’s Feet on High Places,” at my dear, wise Granny’s request and am truly enjoying the ease with which it flows.

Also? I have FINISHED transcribing all my memorized Scripture.  It took me two years to get 12 chapters written, and I have completed the final 5 in just this past week, with ease in my hands.  I told my sweet kids that I wanted to memorize Ephesians 1 for them while I was here, as so many words of that Scripture are my prayers for them.  I am more hopeful now than ever that I will get that done.

Beating MS is not an easy chore, by any means, but I continue to be honored by this experience and your sharing in it with me.  May God bless you all richly as He has me.  Love you all.  Mean it.

This is for the Reese girl fans and a question I am sure they asked: I am allowed to wear my own underwear.  😉

2 Responses to “Day 21: Let’s Hear it for the Nurses!”

  1. Linda Luckstead Benskin October 22, 2012 at 3:50 am #

    Amy, if the only benefit you received from this therapy were the loosening of your hands and the focusing of your mind, it would easily be worth it, and we already know you will gain so much more. I was a bit concerned that you would be disappointed with your MS-free self in the end, because you will not be a 17 year old and you will have some permanent damage from the years of battling the disease. However, I now have complete confidence that you will gain so much, and your realism is so solid, that you will gain only good from this therapy, with no thought for what might have been.

    • ericswife October 22, 2012 at 4:11 am #

      I am very realistic about the gains I will make with my brain damaged areas, as many of them remained ongoing and not scars – these tend to heal. My spine has no lesions, only scars. This is the area
      I am turning over completely to God’s care and I hope to shock even myself with how that repairs, though I am so far happy with what I have. Maybe I will run a mile, or maybe I will not, either way I know that stopping MS right here was one of my best choices.

Honest Truth About Me: I'm going to need a lot of cheer leading to see this through. Your comments and encouragement mean the world to me.

