Day 19: Time to Clean Up Around Here

20 Oct

Not that my little isolation room isn’t already quite tidy, but the good doctor just informed me that my leukocyte count has hit .08 and that .05 is when we begin aseptic isolation.  They need me to not have my suitcase out, my magazines laying around, or any other such things which may get in the way of the nurse techs getting their scrub on.  They will be removing my table and chairs, keeping the door between me and the outside parts of my suite closed and all around kicking up the protection of my body with no immune system like a well oiled machine.

I will be allowed to keep my laptop, my journals, and some books with me.  I will be wearing only the sterile nightgowns and booties they provide.  This is a bit of a favor to me, as I have grown tired of sweating the nights away in my regular old American clothes and look forward to getting some Russian clothes sweaty for a change.  Rocky!  Rocky!  Rocky!

This all begins tomorrow.

In the meantime, I commented to Dr. Fedorenko that my legs have been hurting terribly and that even the night time injections I receive do not seem to help.  He checks my legs for any swelling or discoloration, and finding none says, “This is just a part of the chemotherapy protocol.  You may have to just tolerate for now.”

I grabbed his shirt and said, “Listen here, Dr.Fedorenko!  Are you telling me that I am going to have to just cope here?!”

We held that steel gaze for a fragile second before he cracked up laughing and said, “Yes.  Yes, I am telling you to be patient with me and to cope.”

This was a breakthrough moment for us.  I was determined to pummel him with my humor until I beat him down and it finally worked.  He may be saving my life, but I like to think I can save his just a little bit too.

Here’s to one last night, sleeping in my own sweaty clothes and wearing my own comfy wool socks.  The journey continues and I continue to be a pretty standard patient with no real alarms or unusual problems.  All is well in 3rd floor isolation.

Love you all.  Mean it.

Editing to add:  They are NOT taking my table and chairs.    Little bit of a language confusion there.  They are taking everything off my table and chairs that may get in the way of cleaning and may also collect dust.   Everything else that I keep must be routinely sprayed with disinfectant before I touch it, including my laptop, headphones, books, etc.  These Russians do not mess around and I love them dearly for it.

9 Responses to “Day 19: Time to Clean Up Around Here”

  1. Linda Luckstead Benskin October 20, 2012 at 3:07 am #

    You FINALLY got to him! A breakthrough! Next step, getting him to agree to honeymoon in Texas. That man is going to learn about the power of our Lord, which is what powers us.

    • ericswife October 20, 2012 at 3:11 am #

      He really has become a dear friend to both Eric and I. I pray that the feelings grown mutually. He is surely a precious soul. Did I tell you that he is only one year older than I am? Practically a Doogie Houser.

      • Linda Luckstead Benskin October 20, 2012 at 6:01 am #

        So much knowledge in such a young guy! But his youth is probably why his English is so excellent. He is a real blessing to y’all, and I pray that you and Eric can truly bless him, as well.

  2. Brooke Slick October 20, 2012 at 7:32 am #

    It’s nice to know that Doogie is so young. Because of that, he will have many more years to contribute his expertise to those who will follow. So glad to hear that you were able to crack his shell. By the time you’re out of there, you will have taught him that a little humor goes a long way toward healing.

    • ericswife October 20, 2012 at 7:54 am #

      I like to think that I am loosening him him for the rest of ya. Just a little service I provide along the way. 😉

  3. fromcheaptherapy October 20, 2012 at 8:32 am #

    clean American ninja teaches brilliant Russian healer the universal language. LOVE IT!
    enjoy those new jammies, Amy 🙂

  4. Janette Scarborough October 20, 2012 at 8:56 am #

    I can only think of those mother/grandmotherly saying . . . “Now do what you are told” and well, you know the rest. Really…do what you are told. I am warmed by what translates as tender loving care being exhibited on you. God bless and give you his speed….like lightning speed…yea!

  5. Rick Daugherty October 20, 2012 at 9:30 am #

    I love reading your posts. I received an email back from Dr. Fredorenko this morning. He says the full till Mar/April which is fine by me. Time to put my records together for him. You’re on the down side of this. Just keep taking a day at a time and know you’re getting better not worse. FINALLY!

    • ericswife October 20, 2012 at 9:37 am #

      I imagine that he starts filling up very quickly when word gets out about the quality of care here. Good on you for getting in line!! You are on your way and it is a glorious feeling beyond describing!

Honest Truth About Me: I'm going to need a lot of cheer leading to see this through. Your comments and encouragement mean the world to me.

