It was a Dark and Sweaty Night

18 Oct

Because we arrived in Moscow three days early, we are pretty well over jetlag by the time we were admitted to the hospital and I slept well though the first week of testing.

Testing complete, the good doctor put me on a four day run of high dose IV steroids.  This began my super sweaty nights.  I write the following for two reasons: my adventures seem to amuse some of you and because there are other HSCTers watching me and taking notes for their own journey.  You are both welcome.

I go to sleep each night at around 10pm and wake up, almost like clockwork, at 2am and have to remove all bed linens, flipping them over to a dryer side and then letting them air out a bit.  This being a very well sealed room with two super high air filtration devices makes the drying out not take too long.  While this is happening, I change my clothes.  I finished my steroids over a week ago and this continues to be my routine.

Had I planned better, I would have invested more money in the super nice REI moisture wicking clothing that my super outdoorsy friends are always boasting about, the problem is that my sedentary lifestyle never led me to believe I might have a time where my sweat production might compete with an athlete.  (Yet.)

I intend to mention this little problem with the good doctor today, but here is where it gets dicey.  A few of you may know that I tend to lean a tad bit towards the dramatic side.  My doctor leans so far the other way that our tables in the high school cafeteria would have likely been in two different schools.  If I say, “Hey!  Look!  An ice cream truck!!  Let’s run!!”  He might say, “Why run, when you know that the ice cream truck will be here shortly?  Perhaps you only want ice cream because you heard the music.  Maybe you really want a banana.  Let’s calm down.”

So, I am going to make my case about the sweaty sheets and try not to be so dramatic that I end up with a worker’s crew in here replacing filters, vents, and whatnot.  I’ve got the drama in me, but Imma gonna try and simmah down a little bit.  Maybe go with, “Hey, so, been sweating a lot.  Leetle bit of a problem, but whatevs.” And see where that gets me.  Stay ninja, my friends.

Love you all.  Mean it.

3 Responses to “It was a Dark and Sweaty Night”

  1. Laura H... October 19, 2012 at 12:06 am #

    Rolling! Too funny! I can’t wait to see what he does. ^-^

    • ericswife October 19, 2012 at 12:09 am #

      Already posted his response. Totally not what I expected and a million times better!

      • Laura H... October 19, 2012 at 5:11 am #

        Yeah, I was really surprised how fast you posted again. Totally better than anything!

Honest Truth About Me: I'm going to need a lot of cheer leading to see this through. Your comments and encouragement mean the world to me.

