Day 15: Just Wait a Minute

17 Oct

It is now 12 noon in Moscow and I have three hours until the stem cell transplant process begins. This will take about 2 hours, during which time I will be lightly sedated.
I am not certain how long it will take me to make an update after all the fun of it, so I wanted to make this quickie update for my coffee drinking crowd. Good morning to you all.
The process, as it was explained to me by a gleeful Dr.Fedorenko (this fellow seriously LOVES his work) is that a van will arrive at around 2pm, carrying with it my cryogenically frozen stem cells. (This means that they were frozen so completely and so instantly that they are still alive.) Machines will be brought to my sterile little room and I will be attached to them for very close monitoring.  I will then be put into a light sedation while the, still frozen, stem cells are returned to my body.  The actual transplant takes 20 minutes, but I will be monitored and kept sedated for two hours.  Dr.Fedorenko explained to me that I will feel a heavy weight in my chest and various other sensations, which are normal, but anxiety causing for some.  Thankful for the light sedation.

I am hopeful that Eric will be able to take some sort of pictures of the process for you, as I know many are very interested to see how it is done.  I have been assured that all steps are according to international protocol, though this hospital has never given me a moment’s worry that they are not on top of their game.

So, there you have it.  As I type, my body has been swept clean of MS and when I type to you again, it will have been uploaded with a fresh clean immune system.

An aside about my response to the chemo: I am feeling more tired each day as it works its way through me.  This is normal, but kind of a bummer.  I know I am not going to run out of this hospital all fixed, but rather patched well for the ultimate “all better” I am going for.  I remain steadfastly convinced that I could not be in better hands.

I love you all.  Mean it.  (enjoy your morning coffee, as I was thinking of you while I wrote this.)

6 Responses to “Day 15: Just Wait a Minute”

  1. Scott Prather October 17, 2012 at 5:58 am #

    Amy, We wish you the very best as you beat down this foe that has beaten you up for many years. I have prayed that the doctors and nurses will be at the top of their game as they minister to you. Thank you for posting and allowing all of us to accompany you on this journey. May the Lord give you strength and strengthen those who are with you…especially Eric.

  2. Stacy Courtney October 17, 2012 at 8:00 am #

    Love you, girl!!! See you on the other side of MS!!! Praise God from whom all blessings flow!!! He is good!!!

  3. Wendy Nash October 17, 2012 at 8:37 am #

    Now, the work begins anew in your body!! I’m thrilled for you and you getting your NEW stemmies! Just lay back and enjoy the ride! God bless you mightily on this your 3rd born-again birthday! HUGS

  4. Janet Strunk October 17, 2012 at 9:19 am #

    Amy, I met you at REI in the shoe department. As soon as I found my little piece of paper that I wrote the name of your blog, I have been following you. You are very courageous and I admire your positive attitude and your stance of faith. We all need to dust off our armor and keep fighting the good fight of faith. God has so much for us, and some times it’s easy to give up or be passive or bound by fear. Your blog has encouraged me to try a little harder and keep pressing forward in this faith walk.
    Your in my thoughts and prayers.
    Janet

    • ericswife October 17, 2012 at 10:34 pm #

      I am so happy you popped in, Janet from REI!! This made me smile!

  5. Pat Walt October 17, 2012 at 3:15 pm #

    Your are so brave. I pray the chemo wasn’t too bad. My heart and prayers are with you! God Bless!

Honest Truth About Me: I'm going to need a lot of cheer leading to see this through. Your comments and encouragement mean the world to me.

