Day 10: And So It Begins…

12 Oct

Not that we haven’t already been doing a whole lot of activity before today, but today is the big day when I got moved upstairs and to the isolation room to begin chemotherapy.  It is a pretty nice room, with air filters on the walls and a couple of empty buckets.  I have my suspicions about what those buckets are for, but I am only halfway through my first round of chemo as I type and intend to not worry about buckets just yet.

I saw a young man on my way up here who had obviously gone through chemo before me.  There are people on this floor who are here for their third, fourth, or even eighth round of chemo.  They are fighting to stay alive and beat cancer.  This puts a very sobering spin on my purposes here.  I am here for one single round of the poison and then I will walk away disease free.  The hope that I get from this is not an uncertain one and I do not want to take for granted how precious my hope is on a floor where so many dwell in uncertainty.

I will be in this room for between 1 and 2 weeks time.  I will receive four days of chemotherapy, followed by one day of rest, followed by the administration of my 2.1 million stem cells.  This is what we came here for and it is my pleasure to have you all along for the ride.  Please tell your friends.  Autoimmune dysfunction is beatable and we are going to prove it.  Love you all.  Mean it.

 

Edited to add, for those who are following extra closely and planning your own course – first dose of chemo done.  I feel mostly fine, though my nose is burning a bit and my eyesight is gassy.  I visit the potty maybe every ten minutes, but I suppose that’s what happens when they run a million liters of fluid through you.  I ate all my lunch and do not feel queasy in the least.  I am prepared for this status to change, but happy all the same to not be feeling too bad right now.

14 Responses to “Day 10: And So It Begins…”

  1. Linda Luckstead Benskin October 12, 2012 at 5:47 am #

    Praying for complete healing, knowing that our God has the power to do this, and that you will still serve Him in any case. Our confidence is not in vain – He is powerful to save. Love you. Mean it. – Linda

  2. fromcheaptherapy October 12, 2012 at 6:22 am #

    my Ninja mantra with and for you today: Focus. Hope. Breathe. Repeat.

  3. Ruth spearing October 12, 2012 at 6:52 am #

    Hoping you stay nausea free! Thank you so much for your continual updates. God speed x

  4. Brooke Slick October 12, 2012 at 7:10 am #

    GIVE ME AN A! GIVE ME AN M! GIVE ME A Y! WHAT’S IT SPELL?! AMY! WHAT’S IT MEAN?!…NINJA! LOUDER!…NINJA! LOUDER!..NIIIIIINJAAAAAA! There’s no icon for a cheerleader screaming at the top of her lungs, so you’ll just have to imagine it. Rock on!

  5. FergsMouseTrips October 12, 2012 at 9:08 am #

    This is so exciting! Well, the buckets not so much. But the fact that you are in the process of being healed is EXCITING! Continuing to pray and celebrate with you.

  6. Tammy October 12, 2012 at 10:21 am #

    Buckle up Ninja, you are clearing the path for the new cells to take hold 🙂 I know it’s not easy. You’ve got support all around the world, not too shabby eh? Big hugs and prayers going before you!!

  7. Jessica Dennington October 12, 2012 at 11:49 am #

    Girl. I know that if you ask God for anything in Jesus’ name it will, without a doubt be given to you…when you ask with no doubt. I KNOW you are asking without a single doubt. And, I KNOW with full confidence that it is God’s will to heal you. That is what Jesus verbally proclaimed time and time again, and what God states over and over in the Bible. By your faith you are healed! Love you and walking in pure joy with you during the incredible miracle!

  8. Heidi October 12, 2012 at 1:01 pm #

    Whoo boy, I’m one of those strange people who believes in the power of the word. Rather than “poison,” maybe you could think of the chemo of healing white light. (Told you I was strange, but I want nothing but the best for you.)

    • ericswife October 12, 2012 at 1:16 pm #

      I totally believe in the power of words and poison is exactly what I intend to give MS. Meanwhile, I’m over here eating Mentos and watching Tom Selleck. 🙂 Happy to see you here and I hope you are well!

      • ericswife October 12, 2012 at 1:26 pm #

        http://ericswife.com/index.php/2012/09/does-this-word-look-heavy-on-me/
        I think we have a similar strangeness. 😉

      • Heidi October 12, 2012 at 4:25 pm #

        Well put!

        Thanks for the link to your (other) blog. Off to catch up!

      • ericswife October 13, 2012 at 1:26 am #

        I would appreciate it if you would! I totally stalked your every move while you were in Israel and it would make me feel better if you went through my bathroom cupboards as well!

  9. Heidi October 13, 2012 at 9:52 am #

    Israel? Maybe you’re commenting on another comment. I am a yarn dyer in Montana, and found you by way of Fat Cyclist (who found you by way of his sister who writes Pistols and Popcorn).

    • ericswife October 13, 2012 at 10:00 am #

      Ah yes. The Fat Cyclist. I mistook you for another Heidi I stalked who went through this same procedure in Israel last year. I made charts in my bedroom of her progress and felt like a real creeper. I guess my secret remains safe. 😉

Honest Truth About Me: I'm going to need a lot of cheer leading to see this through. Your comments and encouragement mean the world to me.

