Day 7: The Little Jugular that Could

9 Oct

I can’t sugar coat this post.  Odds are good that I’ll pull something funny out of it some day, but today isn’t it.

I went to bed last night with a catheter in my jugular that nestled right next to my heart.  There is no easy way to sleep under those circumstances on a good day.  At around 2am, I realized that I was very sweaty again, and tried to adjust.  I reached up to wipe some sweat from my chin and discovered that it was blood.

For nearly an hour, I had doctors and nurses in my room working to salvage the port, and salvage they did.  I fell back into a very uncomfortable sleep, praying that it would hold through apheresis the next morning.

At 7am, blood was drawn from my neck and it was determined that I could be wheeled back for collection of stem cells.  I know that the experience of this collection is as different as the people who undergo it, so I will tell you my experience, and hope you know that it is just my story.

I was taken to the collection room and laid back while the tubes coming out of my neck were attached to the machine.  Within about ten minutes, I became convinced that my back, my legs, and my ribs were being crushed and wrenched from my body.   The total time that I was in labor with both of my children was 1.5 hours and it was virtually pain free.  Today, I was paid back for that 6 fold.

Six hours later, and I am back in my room.  My sweet nurse very gently cleaned the wounds on my neck, careful to leave the tubes in place, as they are still directly connected to my jugular and heart, before kissing me gently and cradling my face like a good Mama would – sweet Mamas are universal.  God love them.

I will report back as soon as I know the number of stem cells collected, well, probably after I’ve had a shower.

After this, comes a day’s rest and then the chemotherapy begins.  Forward!!

Edit to add: Reports are in and I have a bag of 2.1 million stem cells getting ready for me after chemotherapy.  That is 2.1 million stem cells which will regroup and give me a brand new immune system with no MS and they will further go on to heal some of the broken places MS has damaged.  This is not an easy therapy, but I am grateful beyond measure to know that it is moving forward and doing exactly as it should.

13 Responses to “Day 7: The Little Jugular that Could”

  1. Becky October 9, 2012 at 7:49 am #

    God is good! I’m so glad you have such precious people taking care of you!

  2. Janelle October 9, 2012 at 8:02 am #

    Thinking of you…..really? This will sound weird but when I read your posts, I feel like I could just run down the hallway and pop into your room , blow a kiss’n hug….and that would be that! …then u would know that we r truly truly with you. God is.

    • ericswife October 9, 2012 at 10:48 am #

      :)! muah!

  3. Nikki October 9, 2012 at 8:18 am #

    Praise God that you are in a facility that has wonderful doctors and nurses to take care of you! You are amazing!! You are handling this like a champ! Praying for you…..love you!!

  4. Sarah S Chicken October 9, 2012 at 8:43 am #

    Blah. I am so so sorry that it hurt so much. I hope you get a little break and comfort before the next procedure. Love you!

  5. Janette Scarborough October 9, 2012 at 9:23 am #

    “Onward Ho!” The forward cry of the wagon master as they head out for new territory looking for the promised land. God is good. I pray for ease in these procedures. (It is nice to know you have such caring people around you.)

  6. Ruth spearing October 9, 2012 at 9:34 am #

    And after all that you still manage a blog. You are in my thoughts and sending you so many healing prayers. You are more than ninja!

    • ericswife October 9, 2012 at 10:54 am #

      Blogging helps me step outside of it all and view it from a different perspective. I have blogged elsewhere for 8 years, so it is kind of second nature. 🙂

      • Ruth spearing October 9, 2012 at 2:10 pm #

        You are still super hard core!!!! I am following from Cornwall, England by the way!! Your blogs are inspirational to so many people. X

  7. Denise Galbraith October 9, 2012 at 9:35 am #

    I’m so sorry that it was so painful. We’re thankful that you made it through and that the collection was a success. Praying for a restful day for you and that you continue to do flying elbow drops (as my boys would say) on stinkin’ MS!

  8. Laura H... October 9, 2012 at 10:02 am #

    Wow, ouch!! I hate tubes, catheters, IVs and such. Yet I live every day with, and because of, one. It is a tiny little canula (same as a catheter) from my insulin pump. Nothing I have been through can even begin to compare with this MS mess, much less the kicking of it’s butt! You’re my hero, Amy, and I am so glad for who you are in God. Apart from Him, we can do nothing. With Him, we can do anything! Forward and onward, good and faithful Soldier! May you bring many to Him!

  9. fromcheaptherapy October 9, 2012 at 10:03 am #

    i simply continue to surround you in ALL THAT IS GOOD…

  10. Wendy nash October 9, 2012 at 2:42 pm #

    Wow, Amy, so sorry that happened to you! So glad you caught it as you did and that they were still able to use it. Wrap it tonight with a soft cloth around your head & neck (try not to strangle yourself (LOL)! God bless you Ninja Warrior!!

Honest Truth About Me: I'm going to need a lot of cheer leading to see this through. Your comments and encouragement mean the world to me.

