Day 6.5: You CAN Ruin Good Hair

8 Oct

Just wheeled back to my room with a port placed in my jugular vein, with x-rays confirming that it rests nicely next to my heart.  I will receive two more injections tonight at 11pm and 3am to mobilize my bone marrow stem cells.  After this, I will get my turn with the apheresis machine.  Here’s hoping I am a rock star in there and need only one day’s visit.  Doc said to plan for two, but I don’t have time for that. 😉

I appreciate the folks who think I am being especially brave about this all, but I must remind you that MS is a million times scarier.

7 Responses to “Day 6.5: You CAN Ruin Good Hair”

  1. Pam ross October 8, 2012 at 10:20 am #

    You are so right…..MS is a lot scarier! But, you are still brave to take on the fight and see it through. Our love and prayers are with you.

    • ericswife October 8, 2012 at 10:25 am #

      🙂 Much love to you and yours!

  2. Nikki October 8, 2012 at 10:21 am #

    I totally get that MS must be a million times scarier….but for those of us that don’t have MS or anything like it that stands in our way physically, we don’t get quite get it. So what we do have to go by, is you telling us about your journey and the things you are experiencing now and I know for me, you are SO brave!! Brave in many more ways than you even realize!!! Brave because you left the things you know here in Texas, to go and try this new treatment and see if it will make you better. Brave because some of those “things” you left behind were your children and your family. Yes, you took Eric with you but as a mom….I can’t imagine going off and leaving my children, even with the people I trust the most. Missing out on those hugs and kisses….for that, you are so brave!

    Amy….we are called to trust in God. That is what you are doing. Hands down, whether you find it brave or not….you are letting God lead you in a way that some people never have the courage to do. You are an inspiration to me…..and I know to so many others.

    I love you, friend!!

    • ericswife October 8, 2012 at 10:24 am #

      I love you too! I am pleased God has seen fit to use my journey as He has. It is an honor most humbling.

  3. Ruth spearing October 8, 2012 at 4:49 pm #

    Every blog you write touches me in ways you wouldn’t even imagine. Prayers for just one day getting your cells. Just remember every second is a second closer to going home. You ARE Brave and you ARE Strong. Don’t suppose you know how Sophie is doing being slightly ahead of you in this procedure? Try and rest x

    • ericswife October 8, 2012 at 9:38 pm #

      I suppose you mean Phoebe. She is having a rough time of it right now, but is on the tail end of chemo and will receive her stem cells shortly. This is no holiday, but we knew what we signed up for. 😉 Thank you for keeping up with us!

      • Ruth spearing October 9, 2012 at 5:05 am #

        Ahh yes u meant phoebe! So is the chemo the worst faze of it all? And how long is the chemo for?? Sorry to ask you so many questions and I understand if you do not a) want to answer or b) feel too poorly. I hope you extraction is going well and is painful but only for the right reasons! Of course would not want you in pain!! Stay strong, you are a courageous woman x

Honest Truth About Me: I'm going to need a lot of cheer leading to see this through. Your comments and encouragement mean the world to me.

