Day Four: There Goes My MLB Career

5 Oct

All the final results from my extremely in depth physical came in yesterday.  It was determined that I am in excellent health, except for the MS and signs of a possible kidney infection in my childhood (seriously, it was a very grueling physical.)  The results of my MRI showed that I have four active lesions on my brain and no activity beyond old scarring on my spine.

Because I have active lesions, Dr.Fedorenko started me on a course of IV steroids this morning.  The goal of this is to keep the lesions quiet while I begin stem cell mobilization injections this evening.  The doctor told me that the good news about these lesions is that this course of bone marrow transplant therapy will shut them down and repair those areas, whereas they would have evolved into scars over time.  The next year will be like Christmas as those areas repair and I regain whatever it is those spots have been aggravating   I have no idea what to expect, though I do know that one of those lesions is in the area of spatial reasoning.  Repair of that may mean that I get a lot better at knowing where my feet and hands are without looking to check.  You have no idea how nice that special ability is until you lose it.

I’ve had my first run of steroids and will now have the rest of the day to do as I please until the injections begin at 11pm and 3am tonight.  The goal of these injections is to mobilize my bone marrow stem cells and cause them to circulate freely in my blood stream before being collected through apheresis.  While I am no fan of pain (who is?), I have heard that lots of pain equals lots of stem cells, so here’s hoping for a lot of endurance and a lot of stem cells.

We woke up this morning to a flood of pictures posted on Facebook by my dear friend from the blow out birthday party thrown for our sweet Ian Reed.  He was bummed when he found out we would be leaving before his 10th birthday and my friends and family went over the top to give him a great time.  We also woke up to a lovely video posted by my dear ol’ Dad.  He is a character and he made us laugh right when I needed it.  There is no chance to get lonely with so many cyber pop ins.  Thank you all for your continued support and cheering.  It means the world to us.

6 Responses to “Day Four: There Goes My MLB Career”

  1. Janette Scarborough October 5, 2012 at 10:40 am #

    You are truly amazing and thanks to your marvelous descriptions and I am learning more about spatial reasoning and words like apheresis and extracorporeal…I may increase my vocabulary yet. Keep up the good work and that wonderful outlook. Praying

    • ericswife October 5, 2012 at 12:37 pm #

      Thank you for praying. What we are doing here is very important, though very intense and a little scary. I appreciate the people who say they are thinking of us, but I really appreciate the folks who also include the Creator of the Universe and my immune system in their thinking of us. Much love from Moscow!

  2. Mike Glenn October 5, 2012 at 1:06 pm #

    Amy, Praying for lots of stem cells….So appreciate your updates….God is blessing your time in Russia….You have a good team surrounding you. Praying a good year for you as your body heals and repairs…
    MIKE

    • ericswife October 5, 2012 at 2:21 pm #

      It is very late here and I just received the first injection. Perfect timing for this encouraging comment. Thank you, Mike!

  3. sammi horton October 5, 2012 at 9:24 pm #

    Thoughts are with you Amy.
    Go well!!!

    Sammi in the Blue Mountains, Autralia 🙂 xxx

    • ericswife October 7, 2012 at 1:14 am #

      🙂

Honest Truth About Me: I'm going to need a lot of cheer leading to see this through. Your comments and encouragement mean the world to me.

