FAQs About Amy Going Ninja All Over MS

31 Aug

Quick answers to my most asked questions:

How’s the weight gaining going?  I have gained 10 pounds and hope for 5 more before we leave.  It’s work, but I have a nice supply of shakes made by good friends to supplement and I also discovered that Twizzlers, America’s dumbest candy ever, are 130 calories for three of them.  Onward!

What are you doing in Moscow exactly?  I’m going to have a portion of my bone marrow stem cells removed, followed by the partial shutting down of my unhealthy immune system using chemotherapy.  I will then receive my healthy bone marrow stem cells, at which time my immune system will begin to rebuild with no memory of multiple sclerosis.  Easy Peasy.

Is it really easy peasy?  No.  Eric and I will be in Moscow for six weeks.  I anticipate being very sick, losing my hair, losing all this weight I’m packing on and losing six whole weeks with my precious kids.  MS will take quite the wrestling match to ditch, but we’re up for the tussle.

When are you leaving?  Tickets have been purchased and appointments in Moscow made for us to leave on September 27 (arriving September 28) and have our first appointment at the hospital on October 1.  If all goes smoothly, we have return tickets for November 13.

How is the fundraising going?  We are currently at just over $38,000 total in raised funds.  After airfare, lodging expenses, visa expenses and etc, we must also be able to pay the hospital $40,000 USD.  This is a great time to donate, if you have been waiting for a great time.  🙂 We will continue to raise funds to pay for after care and physical therapy when we return, but we need to meet this first leg of the home stretch first.   The cure for MS did not come at a good time for my family financially, but I have never worried that it wouldn’t happen.  Thank you for everything you have done to keep this a worry free endeavor.

How are you feeling?  In a word?  Awful.  This must be what marathon runners feel like at mile 25.  I spent the last 17 years believing that MS was a lifelong marathon, so I didn’t let myself think about stopping.  Suddenly I am seeing mile markers and I know that it is almost over and the thought of that makes me realize just how miserable I am.  (My day 0 will likely coincide with the day I was admitted to the hospital as a quadriplegic 18 years prior.  Crazy, huh?)

Thank you for following along and keeping us all in your prayers.   Our kids are remarkable people and I marvel at their responses to every step of this journey.  I covet your prayers for them just as desperately as I covet your prayers for Eric and me.  What a wild and crazy year it has been, and we haven’t even reached the peak of the roller coaster yet!

 

3 Responses to “FAQs About Amy Going Ninja All Over MS”

  1. Linda Luckstead Benskin August 31, 2012 at 6:14 pm #

    Blessings on you and your family, Amy!!!! I am confident that the money will come, just in time.

  2. Tammy August 31, 2012 at 6:25 pm #

    Way to go on the weight gain! 🙂 I admire your spirit and am counting the “miles” with you! As a 3 time half marathon runner, I completely get your analogy! An old runner’s trick is to not look ahead, just look at what’s in front of your feet- keep breathing- repeat “I got this” over and over as the miles go by. xoxox

  3. Stacy Courtney September 1, 2012 at 7:40 pm #

    Praying for you, Amy. You have been on a long journey, girl, but as you know, God has been with you and will be with you every step of the way. He’s not going anywhere!!! And He will see this through with you, because He is still on the throne and always will be. Nothing, not even MS, is impossible for him! I love you! Love, Stacy 🙂

Honest Truth About Me: I'm going to need a lot of cheer leading to see this through. Your comments and encouragement mean the world to me.

