World Traveler in Zero to Sixty

4 Aug

Juarez, Mexico. This is the greatest extent of my world travels and it was just a one day visit when I was barely 22 and Eric was 20. Border patrol searched us on the way out and were amused at Eric’s marionette doll purchase. I was on immune modulator injections at the time and they were not amused at my syringes. Ah, youth.

Got married, had kids, homeschool the darlings; disease quietly progressing like a steady drumbeat throughout and, next thing I know, I’m 34 and Juarez is still as far as I’ve ever traveled.

Three days ago I read the last piece of information I could find about the HSCT protocol at Pirogov, the hospital in Moscow.  I read every thing I could find about the hospital, that status of Russian healthcare, reviews from patients I could contact and anything available about every drop of chemicals that the hospital in Russia might intend to push through my veins.

I am as confident as a person can be, given the circumstances, that this is the right choice for me and that it will be an invaluable opportunity for other auto-immune patients to learn about this facility through my personal accounts. I recently learned that I will be joined in the hospital by Phoebe, an MS patient who shares my goal of stopping this disease. Check out her blog and give her a big “Thank you!!” from me because she is going ten days before me, which will help make the unknown a little less unknown.

At this exact time last year, I didn’t know that I was one month away from not being able to wear my wedge heeled shoes and on to using a cane more often than not. I was wearing my super cute wedges and certain that Juarez, Mexico was going to be forever the most extreme, dangerous, and exhilarating international trip of my life. I was also certain that MS was only going to keep on its course of destroying my spinal cord and brain function.

I think we all have to get a little uncomfortable with anything before we are ready to change. This is true about carpeted bathrooms and it was true for me and my quest to dump the MS. When multiple sclerosis made me box up all my cute shoes and give them away, I started to get concerned about where it was going to end and I did what I always do when I get ready to fix something: I got real friendly with Google.

This year has been a blur to me and it feels like everything came to a screeching halt three days ago when I read the last thing I could find about Pirogov, Moscow, Russia, the entire procedure, and Russian food and suddenly realized, “ohmygoodness! I’mgoingtoRussianextmonthtogetabonemarrowtransplant!!”

I am not surprised to find myself here, because resting my needs on God has always been an adventure, but I am a bit dazed by the speed.  I told someone yesterday that Eric and I were leaving for Russia on September 27.  “Next month?” was the reply.  Never talk like that to a cognitively challenged woman who thinks we’re still in April.  Head —>Floor.

Thank you all again for joining me on this leg of my journey. Your prayers are priceless and your financial assistance is a literal God send to me. Stick around; it’s about to get interesting.

4 Responses to “World Traveler in Zero to Sixty”

  1. Chris August 5, 2012 at 12:08 am #

    You go and kick ass girl!!!!!!! It’s really not that bad, I was running at 70% within 2 weeks and a 100% 2 1/2 months after a similar non myeloablative protocol.

    • ericswife August 5, 2012 at 5:33 pm #

      That is so cool to hear! I want THAT outcome. I am so ready to be done with all of this nonsense. Keep it up!

  2. Tammy August 23, 2012 at 4:24 pm #

    Amy,
    How is the weight gain going? How is the trip planning so far? Does the hospital give you a list of what to bring or do you just wing it? 🙂 I am thinking of you!

    • ericswife August 25, 2012 at 11:46 am #

      I have so far gained seven pounds that I am holding on to pretty well. I am pretty much winging it as far as what to bring, but am also going with recommendations from other patients who have done this world wide. I know that Eric and I will have to be very vigilant about my immune system’s fragile nature post treatment, so I will bring anti-bacterial soaps and hand gels, as well as Clorox wipes to clean all surfaces I must encounter as we travel home. The one thing I am most unclear on is whether I will be able to wear my own clothing or if I will have to wear hospital clothes. This is where I will be so very thankful for Phoebe’s advance reporting.

Honest Truth About Me: I'm going to need a lot of cheer leading to see this through. Your comments and encouragement mean the world to me.

