Timeline Goals

1 Jan

I understand that man makes his plans while God makes His.  With that in mind, here is my personal timeline:

  • The hospital total cost is $94,000.  We have to wire this to them before they will schedule my six week session.  We would like to be able to send this to them by May 31.
  • Beyond paying for the hospital, we will need to raise funds for travel and accommodations.  We would like to plan to arrive in Tel Aviv on July 15 with intentions to begin the process on July 17.  Our estimated total cost for that is $25,000.  (Some have suggested that people can donate frequent flyer miles towards this goal.  We would be happy to accept such a donation.)
  • When we return from Israel, I will need to be closely monitored by a chemotherapy trained physician to see how my immune system heals.  I will also need intense physical therapy and further MRIs/neuro check-ups to determine my results.  We estimate this to cost $8,500-$12,000.
You will notice that this leaves some flex in our fundraising goal of $140,000.  This is to cover all the unknowns that will without question come into play along the way.  Any funds remaining will be donated directly to Northwestern University to further the stateside research into HSCT for the treatment of auto-immune dysfunction.

Because of your very generous donations up to now, I have been able to fund my baseline MRI and my visits with the neurologist.  Because of God’s great kindness, I was able to see a neurologist who paid immediate and thourough attention to my case.

Information on how to donate is in the upper right hand corner of this blog.  I know that there are a few groups of people working on fundraising events.  If you have an interest in such a thing, contact me or any member of my family.

Thank you for following along, for your prayers, and for your genuine enthusiasm for this endeavor.  I said from the beginning that this is going to be fun to watch and I believe that just as much today as I did then.  The task before me is no small thing and I don’t want to appear glib about the intense seriousness of the medical intervention I have chosen.  At the same time, I do not want to discredit God’s sovereign movement in all of this.  It has been a wonder to behold.

Honest Truth About Me: I'm going to need a lot of cheer leading to see this through. Your comments and encouragement mean the world to me.

