The Cost of Going Ninja

19 Dec

The total sum that I am hoping to raise is $140,000.  The total hospital cost for chemo and bone marrow transplant is $94,000.  Airfare for Eric and I would cost an estimated $5,000, and hotel costs for a six week stay would cost an estimated $10,000-12,000.  When I return from Israel, I hope to be able to obtain intensive physical therapy costing an estimated $5,000.  I will also need to be able to maintain my blood tests and chemotherapy recovery follow up when I return, costing an unknown, but less than $3,000, amount.  There will be a minimum of two MRIs involved and the total on these is likely close to $7,000.

The total at this point is in the neighborhood of $125,000.  I am hoping to raise a total of $140,000 because all of my estimates are based on current rates and all things going exactly as planned.  While the odds are in my favor, there is the possibility of my acquiring an infection while my immune system is depleted and needing additional care while in Israel.  I would like to get there prepared for any event.

I have been approached by many who want to help, but don’t know how.  I am glad to hear that because the truth is that I have no clue what I am doing on the fund raising end and I could use all the help I can get.   I have spent so much time and energy researching the procedure, the hospitals, and the doctors that fundraising is the farthest thing from my mind, yet it is the most crucial at this point.

I am going to have to lean very heavily on my community to help me from this point on.  If you have any thoughts on how to raise money, or skills that may help, please let me know.  I honestly am flying blind from here on out.  This ought to be real fun to watch.

(For the MS patients following along:  You can receive the protocol I am seeking at Northwestern University in Chicago.  If you can get in to this program, I hear that the cost totals range from $250,000-$350,000.  Some insurance companies will cover half of the cost.  I would say that it is worth looking into for a step one, if the price tag doesn’t make you flinch.)

4 Responses to “The Cost of Going Ninja”

  1. Abbye December 19, 2011 at 10:14 pm #

    Many direct selling companies have representatives who can help you fundraise, for instance Avon (me), Scentsy, 31, etc. It works in two ways. First, the representative advertises to all current customers that the money from a certain percentage of orders for a given timeframe are going to a specific cause (AGNOMS – that’s YOU!). Once that timeframe is up, the representative is responsible for calculating the amount and sending it to the appropriate person. Also, people who are willing to help with the fundraising can sell FOR the representative, with the same percentage of proceeds going to the same cause. I will absolutely help get this arranged for you with Avon through me. It is a busy week with Christmas and all, so let’s get together thnext week and go over the plan. LOVE YOU!
    Abbye

    • ericswife December 20, 2011 at 9:04 pm #

      Let’s get together after New Year’s Day. Jan.2 is Eric’s birthday, so our Christmas party doesn’t stop. I think we could really have some fun with this!

  2. Mike Glenn December 20, 2011 at 4:41 pm #

    Amy
    Let me Ditto the comment made RE fundraiers via Direct Sales companies…Perhaps some of your jeweler contacts will do a home show for you and donate the proceeds (or a percentage) to you. You can send letters of support to your friends, church membership, people you know in all walks of your life….Once you start thinking about it I am sure there will be ways to generate money for this trip…..
    This is quite an undertaking and the goal is HUGE but we also know that with God all things are possible…..Keep working towards the goal…knowing that God is also aware and His help is near……
    MIKE

    • ericswife December 20, 2011 at 9:08 pm #

      I had the same thought when I saw Abbye’s comment, Mike. My mother-in-law, Dianne Peterson, is my Premier mother. She said that she would look into something like that.
      “God is also aware and His help is near.” I have not a worry. 🙂 Thank you for keeping up with me, Mike. I do so love my Premier family.

Honest Truth About Me: I'm going to need a lot of cheer leading to see this through. Your comments and encouragement mean the world to me.

