How Can I Help?

17 Dec

I got a phone call a few nights ago from Karl Johns.  You may not have yet had the privilege of having met Karl Johns, but if you went to high school with us, you know that Karl is a man among men.  In high school he was a football playing wrestler and was shaped like a triangle.  He also blushed and giggled if you dared tell him that you thought he was good at any of it.  Karl stood out as a fine example of Godly youth and I always admired him for it.  I had not spoken with Karl, I believe, since we graduated high school (mumble-teen years ago), until he called me out of the clear blue sky.

There were a few things which I did not take into account when I began this last, and most daunting, leg of this journey.  This endeavor of mine is such that I feel humbled and exposed.  Frankly, that is a scary place to be, and I did not consider just how scary full exposure could be.   I did not consider, also, the enormity of support that would step up from every page of my life’s story.   I have been sent daily reminders that every corner of my life is rooting for me and this keeps the scary at bay.

So, there I was, talking to Karl just like we are old buddies who always talk on the phone.  It was odd and really cool all at once. Karl tells me that he lost his job this summer (12 years solid security and law enforcement experience, fyi) and that he wanted to brainstorm some ideas for getting me to Israel and getting this MS done with already Karl’s enthusiasm was just what I needed right at that moment.  I got off the phone feeling ten feet tall and bullet proof.

So, how can you help?  You have come out of the woodwork to high five me and offer your prayers.  That is more help than I can express.  This is going to be difficult on a lot of levels, but I know that I will never be without support.

On Monday, I will post a list that breaks down the $140,000 that I hope to raise to fund this recovery mission and ways that you can help.  On Tuesday I will see my neurologist, go over my plans in detail, and get the MRIs ordered so that the doctors in Israel can be on the same page as my doctor here.   (For the MS patients following along: It gives me a degree of comfort that the doctors in Israel require documentation of my current status with MS.  I’ve had a (no chemo) adult stem cell clinic in Mexico accept me based on my word alone and that gave me immediate reason to pause.)

For right now, though, I just wanted to take a minute on this chilly Saturday morning to thank you for the donations, for the e-mails, for the comments on this blog, for the Facebook chatter, and more than anything, for your prayers.  I am bolstered by an incredible team because of a merciful God.

2 Responses to “How Can I Help?”

  1. Jennifer Preston December 17, 2011 at 2:18 pm #

    Love you girl… praying for you on this journey… I wish I had a rubber chicken to send along with you!

    • ericswife December 17, 2011 at 2:25 pm #

      I LOVE YOU!!! I suspect that a rubber chicken will have to come along.

Honest Truth About Me: I'm going to need a lot of cheer leading to see this through. Your comments and encouragement mean the world to me.

