Latest News

7 Dec

There are two approaches to Hematopoietic Stem Cell Transplantation (HSCT). One method is called “myeloablation with autologous HSCT transplantation” and the other is called “lymphoablation with autologous HSCT transplantation”.

The first version is full chemo with bone marrow transplant, while the second version is a somewhat less intensive round of chemo with bone barrow transplant. The data only goes as far back as 9 years, but so far the results of both as applied to MS is identical. The less intensive chemo was developed, in part, by doctors with International Center for Cell Therapy & Cancer Immunotherapy (CTCI) in Tel Aviv, Israel (along with Dr. Richard Burt, the neurologist at Northwestern University who is currently in phase III trials of this approach.)

Lymphoablation with autologous HSCT as a protocol for MS is so far available only in the United States and in Tel Aviv (to the best of my, and others, research.)  I do not meet the protocol for the phase III trials in the United States, so I applied for admission to the hospital in Tel Aviv.

On this past Sunday morning, after two weeks of waiting by the phone, I received word that the doctors at CTCI would accept me as a patient.

This is not something that insurance will cover and I will be enlisting the assistance of friends and family to raise funds to make this happen.  I have a confidence that this will not be a long process.  My family and I are currently speaking with the proper folks to get the ball rolling and I will update as I know more.

For now, I will be starting the needed steps to prepare my body for the gauntlet and my family for the journey.  Please join me in worshiping a God who does not leave us abandoned to our misery.

11 Responses to “Latest News”

  1. Carolyn Counterman December 7, 2011 at 11:42 am #

    Joining you in worship. Yay God!

    • ericswife December 7, 2011 at 12:20 pm #

      Yay!!!!

  2. Mike Glenn December 7, 2011 at 11:46 am #

    Amy
    Thank you for this update….WOW!!! We will keep you and your family in prayer as a new chapter is being written on this journey…..Praying that God will lead you and family members to those who can help with finances as He has done in leading you to these doctors who are taking your case. God is our great Provider and we are praying His provision for you in this new course of action…..

    • ericswife December 7, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

      I can honestly say that financing this has never even been a worry. I told my Dad, “It’s all God’s money and He has fun ways of moving it around.” I think even this step will be fun to watch! Thank you for your prayers. They mean so much more than I could say.

  3. brittanymicole December 7, 2011 at 4:17 pm #

    Hi Amy, this is Brittany, Monique’s little sister. Monique was talking to me about your blog today because unfortunately I’m back in the hospital. I believe I’m on day 5 now, which is driving me crazy but I gotta do it. I think that I am really going to enjoy following your blog because right now because I could really use the encouragement with dealing with my own MS. I think that when I hit my 8th year with being diagnosed, I also hit that ‘Burnt Out’ point as well…even tho I know that I don’t get the the pleasure of being ‘Burn Out’ over something that I’m kinda stuck with. But I do wish you all the best with your treatment journey! Any good news about your MS and anyone else is greatly appreciated. I’m still a ‘baby MS patient’ that is just looking for guidance…thank you!

    • ericswife December 7, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

      Are you getting steroids? I hate those things. Best worst medicine ever. I hope you feel better soon.
      It’s funny that you would say “burned out”, because I feel the same way. I feel like, “All right. I’m done with this. I’ve been real nice, but it is time for you to go.” My hope is that this treatment I am seeking becomes the norm so that we finally do have the power to say, “You have got to go.”
      If you do happen to notice my outrageously positive attitude, I hope you know that my attitude comes from knowing that Jesus is my King and that God has a plan for me. If you don’t believe that is true for your own life, then just watch me. Let’s do this!

      • brittanymicole December 7, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

        Yes I’m on IV steroids yet again…i hate them. They help the MS but they make you go thru 1000 different moods and have you eating all types of foods.lol

        I’m trying my hardest to keep my faith during really trying times with my MS, but I can honestly admit that sometimes I feel so defeated. I really just want to block out that ‘Burnt Out’ feeling because that almost seems to be like another hurdle that I’m always having to figure out how to overcome.

      • ericswife December 7, 2011 at 5:30 pm #

        I’ll say this, and then I promise to stop today’s sermon: You don’t have to get your act together before God will let you rest on Him. It’s a lot of work to follow all the rules to make God like you and that is sad because He does not require any work. He has a plan for your good, Brittany. It’s a plan to prosper you and give you hope. Come at me any time you need to hear that. I’ll be happy to remind you.

      • brittanymicole December 7, 2011 at 8:21 pm #

        Thank you very much…I need that.

  4. Briana Mills December 13, 2011 at 9:22 am #

    Praise God for doctors with answers and action. Amy, I will pray, and share with my family for more prayers, for your plans, and for God’s plans for you.

    You are about the most positive person I have ever met. I know that is firmly rooted in your faith, and you are an inspiration for all of us to keep believing in God’s word.

    As it tells you, “For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord. Plans for wholeness and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.” ~Jeremiah 29:11 ESV

    I believe God has great plans for you, and I pray that they come quickly!

    • ericswife December 13, 2011 at 1:50 pm #

      Thank you very much, Briana! You are so encouraging and your prayers mean a whole lot. Thank you for joining me in praying “quickly.”

Honest Truth About Me: I'm going to need a lot of cheer leading to see this through. Your comments and encouragement mean the world to me.

