Ruth – Before HSCT

4 Sep

For comparison, I thought I would post this video of me presenting the Old Testament book of Ruth on Mother’s Day, five months before transplant.  Even during that time, I often heard people say, “You look great!”  While I appreciated the sentiment, I knew that I looked nothing like I felt.  Aside from the fact that they are two different books, I want to make a brief list of the differences between these two presentations.

  • I used a cane.  Though my balance was pretty good, I needed the cane to lean on as my legs (left leg, in particular) would become heavy and hard to drag around.
  • Because of the extreme discomfort and pain brought on by the rib crushing sensation of the MS hug, I took any opportunity I could to hunch over.  This sensation also made breathing difficult and I paused often to take in quick, shallow breaths.
  • Though it is invisible to the eye, my face and throat shocked me every minute or so with painful spasms.  These happened when I stretched my face too much or spoke too quickly.  I no longer have these spasms and presenting Esther felt like I was unbound and set loose.
  • In order to be able to do this presentation, I had to drink 3 cups of coffee, 20 mgs. of doctor prescribed amphetamines, and sequester myself from any and all  conversations for a full 24 hours before, during, and after.  I went home that day and was useless for three.  In contrast, I presented Esther three times with only half a cup of coffee and went home and did two loads of laundry and made dinner that evening.

I believe The Word is still clearly shown in this video of Ruth, though I think it also helps show me just how drastically I have been repaired.  I look forward to what further healing brings.

3 Responses to “Ruth – Before HSCT”

  1. Jean September 4, 2013 at 2:00 pm #

    Praise God for His Healing Hand of Mercy!

  2. Wendy Nash September 4, 2013 at 2:08 pm #

    thank you, that was wonderful too! What a blessing God has given you with this gift! Wendy

  3. Mike Glenn September 4, 2013 at 3:13 pm #

    AMY….Thank you for sharing this as well….It was good to see the Before and After….God has wrought healing and it is very evident. I was equally amazed at the Ruth story as I was with Esther….I know the memorization of these two books has been a great blessing to you! Ruth is a wonderful story that God has preserved for us as it directly ties to Jesus…..Thank you for sharing this video….God has given you a special talent. It is good to see how healing has taken place, too! Amy, you have had quite a journey….Thank you for taking me along!
    MIKE

Honest Truth About Me: I'm going to need a lot of cheer leading to see this through. Your comments and encouragement mean the world to me.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 97 other followers