Reposted From Facebook

7 Jun

I know that n0t all of my readers here follow me on Facebook, so I wanted to copy this exchange for everyone to see.  The first part was written by my dear friend Carolyn and the second part is my response.  It’s okay if you get a little goosebumpy.  I did too.

Carolyn wrote:

For any of you who know (or know of) how debilitated Amy Peterson had become because of her MS, I want you to know what the stem cell transplant did for her. She left the US needing a cane and/or a wheelchair. She had no energy. Her body would not do what she wanted it to do. She went for treatment hoping, but not knowing what the results might be. But the results were a miracle! Tonight I saw Amy RUN IN A STRAIGHT LINE WITHOUT WOBBLING AND WITHOUT LOSING HER BREATH. She just flat out broke into a run. I nearly fell down in awe of the sight of it. She runs. She laughs. She gets down on her hands and knees to clean things and then GETS BACK UP!!! God is so gracious. So gracious. For all of you who donated money for Amy to go get the treatment in Russia, your investment is returning 100 fold. You gave this amazing woman the chance to participate vigorously in her own life!!! SHE CAN RUN!!!

I responded:

Here’s my crazy, weird running story (get you a coffee – I’m feeling wordy) : When I was a kid, and up until I was about 14, I really enjoyed running. Not athletically, I just enjoyed getting places quickly and I liked everything I felt in my body when I ran. This stopped and I just assumed it was because I was turning into a mature young lady. Ha. When I was 17 and a quadriplegic, I remembered the feeling of running and promised myself that I would do that again some day. I never really did, though I did learn to walk again and that felt almost as good as running.
Fast forward to two months ago. I was at Ian’s baseball game and at the concession stand to get water for Ian when I heard some pretty excited cheering coming from our field. Not wanting to miss anything, I started to walk quickly back. Without being fully aware of what I was doing, I started to run. As I ran, it occurred to me that I was running (say it like “Forrest Gump” in your head. I did.) It was about a twenty second spurt of running, but it was exhilarating. I chalked it up to odd fluke born of a mother’s love and desire to not miss the game. A week or so later, Eric and I were in the car in the driveway when I realized I had left my phone in the house. Not wanting to irk the husband, I ran back inside to get it. Again, my head was a whir of thoughts. I was running! 
Last night, Carolyn Evaine Counterman came by and I invited her to come across the street with me to tend to my latest gardening project. As we cleared the gate, I realized that I had left the water on longer than I thought and I broke into a sprint to shut it off. Carolyn went wild at the sight. It was the first time I had done such a thing with a captive audience. 
I am writing all of this out because reading this post by Carolyn was the first time in 8 months that I have cried with the realization that THIS. IS. HAPPENING. I am getting better. Better than I dared to say I had hoped for. I have been overwhelmed with process of getting over the chemo and getting back into the swing of the day to day – so overwhelmed that I sometimes forget that I ever really believed HSCT would work. Carolyn’s testimony here reminded me fully. It worked and it is continuing to work. Not sure how much running I have in me, but I know that I can book it if I have to and that is a pretty exciting place to be.

3 Responses to “Reposted From Facebook”

  1. Anna-Marie June 7, 2013 at 1:35 pm #

    I have been in awe of your story as I followed over the last several months. To me this is proof of how God works through medicine & the hands of talented drs. Such an awesome story!!!

    • ericswife June 7, 2013 at 1:37 pm #

      ABSOLUTELY!

  2. Mike Glenn June 10, 2013 at 4:24 pm #

    This is absolutely praise-worthy and an awesome testimony to God’s goodness and mercy.
    MIKE

Honest Truth About Me: I'm going to need a lot of cheer leading to see this through. Your comments and encouragement mean the world to me.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 96 other followers